Nephilim clone?

MoonRightRomantic

I've never written a retro-clone before, so how would I go about creating a Nephilim clone using GORE as the base? I'd introduce the new core attributes of Education (EDU), Family Relationship (FAM), and Social Status (SOC), and the use of Potentials for things other than poison. I'd be using the revised rules from Liber Ka, Chronicle of the Awakenings, and Slaying the Dragon (available on the Nephilim Ascendant Yahoo! Group), plus advanced past life generation, more historically-based summoning rules, converting the original spells into the new magic system, a new system for income, and a new system for contacts (credits to Liam Routt, Ramos-Tavener, and Josh).

What kind of changes would I have to make to things like fluff and terminology?

Edited by MoonRightRomantic
updated link due to yahoo groups closure

Guest Vile Traveller

I presume you're tempted to do this because the 3rd edition is no longer BRP-ish, right? Are there specific GORE bits you need that aren't in the MRQ1 SRD? If not, you might consider going with the original (it's downloadable HERE and HERE and HERE), or you could try D100II, or even Legend.

However, you will have to be very careful not to use any copyrighted material or intellectual property in your work. You can re-imagine rules algorithms, but you cannot port over original copyrighted ideas. Certainly you can't officially call it a "Nephilim clone". Your best bet is to go back to the original source material, and then check your writing against the published RPG to ensure that you're not infringing.

On the other hand, you might simply want to create a conversion document to let you use the Nephilim books with BRP rules? What exactly are you planning to create, just the rulebook or also a setting and adventures? Is it for publication or just your own use?

The Dragonsfoot Forums are a good place to get your head around the dos and don'ts of retro-cloning.