Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Zit

Magic

5 posts in this topic

Powers with the Overcome Attribute: the caster must start a Conflict matching his WIL vs. characteristic as stated in the power description.

- Can the target roll for effect ?

- are other Traits usable for support beads ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Yes, but only if it has the Reverse power active. It is specified on page 112 in the sidebar, and in the Reverse power description.

2. Yes, but this requires the expenditure of a Concentration action and an appropriate description of what you are doing. You might for instance use Endurance to improve Willpower against Confusion by stating you bite your tongue to overcome dizzyness.

In a few words, everything works as in a normal conflict (Support Bonuses need a justification, preferrably backed by a Trait) with the addition that you spend 5 SR for each action or support except when you roll defensively.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So let’s say a sorcerer wants to cast a Hinder spell at a PC.

At SR = INT, it starts a conflict with his WIL / Willpower. The PC resists with CON / Endurance (or any other suitable Trait), and has no reverse power.

The target can only resist and never rolls for effect, so can try every time to gain a bonus bead and use it for his defense roll. For example, in our case, Run, or Willpower, or why not by  rolling against a Motivation (“my beloved is being abducted !”. Since the caster (the Narrator) MUST roll for effect if the PC does not, or even just to apply the power, he cannot accumulate bonus : this is a big advantage for the PC, as long as he finds some Traits to gain a bonus bead, isn’t it ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First of all, the sorcerer spends TWO Concentration Actions to cast the spell (Might + Range manipulations) so it goes off at INT-5, And the attacker CAN accumulate bonuses if he spends 5SR for the bonus and then 5 SR to roll for effect. In Parallel conflicts, you are not limited to one action per round, as long as you spend the Concentration Action(s).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 17.2.2017 at 0:40 PM, RosenMcStern said:

1. Yes, but only if it has the Reverse power active. It is specified on page 112 in the sidebar, and in the Reverse power description.

 

 In a future edition, you may write it in the powers Chapter, "overcoming an unwilling target", p.174

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0