Jump to content

TerryTee

Members
  • Content count

    5
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Good

About TerryTee

  • Rank
    Junior Member

Converted

  • RPG Biography
  • Current games
    RQ3, CoC, Spacemaster, Western, HarnMaster
  • Location
    Home
  • Blurb

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. TerryTee

    Shamans and fetches

    What happens when a shaman is defeated in spirit combat on the spirit plane? Depends on the type of spirit I guess. I would also assume the shaman may be trapped or stranded. -Terry
  2. TerryTee

    Shamans and fetches

    For this campaign I'm trying to give the party more power than usual, including some Hero abilities. I'm working under the slogan "Magic is fun, so lets use more of it", so a powerful shaman fits right in. Besides, it not exactly super quick to develop a high POW for fetch... (We've also made it easier to regain divine spells, in order to get more magic in play.) -Terry
  3. TerryTee

    Shamans and fetches

    Agreed. But I just loved the idea of doing it this way. If the fetch is the spirit self of the shaman, the shamans presence on the spirit plane, then why does the mundane spirit part of the shaman go to the spirit plane for the serious spirit plane action? It makes so much more sense to me that the fetch goes off into the spirit plane (which is it's domain) while the shaman says in the mundane plane (which is his domain). Well, my memory almost served me well... It was a write up by Simon Phipp. http://www.soltakss.com/spirit4.html -Terry
  4. TerryTee

    Shamans and fetches

    Thanks for a lot of input! I'm glad to see that others have struggled with the same... It's just not us;-) I have not read that before. Thanks. The way I read this it describes the fetch as being able to act on its own (while still being an extent of and part of the shaman): Through their relationship with the fetch, a shaman is aware of both the Middle World and the Spirit World at the same time ... both the fetch and the shaman are fully aware of everything the other is doing. The fetch shares the shaman’s INT, and can act and react just as can the shaman. ------ Seems like Styopa and David have similar interpretations, saying the fetch is not an entity that can act on its own. I quite like this interpretation and believe it could lead to some good adventures, since the fetch by itself is not as powerful/useful, but the shaman would need more captured spirits. However, our current Glorantha is closer to Simon's interpretation, and has been so for a long time, so I don't think we'll change this now ... ------- Combining these statements with my questions on passing between planes: If the fetch is holding a spirit that can cast spells, will that spirit be able to cast a spell into either plane? Will it be able to see both planes in order to find targets? ----- Just as a side note. One house rule we use is that the shaman never discorporates, but instead he stays put in the mundane plane during a spirit walk. Instead performing a discorporation ritual he performs a ritual that sort of detaches the fetch and enables it to move into the spirit plane and away from the shaman. I have stolen this idea from some writeup online, and if I'm not mistaken that was written by you, Simon. Is that correct? Thanks, -Terry
  5. TerryTee

    Shamans and fetches

    Hi. I've got some questions related to shamans and fetches that I've been trying to figure out. I'm playing RQ3, but will appreciate answers from other systems. My group have played RQ for a long time, so we have plenty of house rules and rule specifications, but we always try to find answers in the rules and supplements before changing/extending rules. Sorry that this is a bit long, but here goes: 1) Can a fetch cast spells when the shaman is not discorporate? The RQ3 magic book states that the fetch appears on the mundane plane and guards the body while the shaman is discorporate. It also states that the fetch can cast spells, and has access to the shamans' spells, in this situation. The RQ3 Magic Book however never states that a fetch can cast spells 'on it's own' in regular situations (when the fetch is on the spirit plane and the shaman is in his body). Can a fetch cast spells when the shaman is not discorporate? If it can, can it do so 'independent og the shaman, effectively enabling the shaman-fetch-pair to cast two spells at once? In my current Glorantha the answer to 1a) and 1b) is yes, but is this consistent with general Gloranthan thinking, RQ3 or other RQ versions? 2) Can a shaman and fetch send sprits back and forth between planes? RQ3 Magic books describes that a fetch can hold spirits that the shaman has beaten, and that the shaman can use these spirits later for healing, exorcism etc. This implies that a shaman can beat a sprit on the mundane plane, and then transfer that sprit back to the spirit plane via the shaman-fetch-link. Later, the spirit can be pulled into the mundane plane though that same link (no Summon needed to transport a spirit between planes). Is this correct? If so, when a spirit is pulled from the spirit plane into the mundane plane, will it become visible? (would it not have to in order to initiate spirit combat?) Can a shaman use a control spell and send a spirit into the spirit plane and the fetch instead of beating it in spirit combat? 3) If a fetch can cast spells, can it cast spells on the mundane plane? The answer to question 1) above will obviously impact this question. I also imagine that the answer to question 2) should impact this question. Can a fetch cast spells on the shaman? Protection etc to prepare for combat, Healing during combat and even when the shaman is unconscious? Can a fetch cast spells on targets on the mundane plane that the shaman is touching? Can a fetch cast spells on targets on the mundane plane that the shaman is not touching? The fetch will need to perceive the target somehow. Thanks and regards, -Terry
×