Jump to content

Paid a bod yn dwp

Regulars
  • Posts

    832
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by Paid a bod yn dwp

  1. I think you have certainly touched on an area in the text that could be made more explicit. Unfortunately some of Jason’s Durall answers in the Q&A seem contradictory on this matter. But there is one point in the Q&A where he explains a specific example: “Yes. If you have 4 hit points in the right arm and a sword hits it for 9 points, your arm takes 8 points of damage, which is also considered in your total hit point damage. But if your right arm is hit again for 2 points, you (not your arm) take 2 more points of total hit point damage.”
  2. I’m referring to the examples that illustrate the damage section we’re talking about. Sorry don’t have the book to hand at the moment. They illustrate how damage works and the relationship between location hit points and general hit points. Basically 1. You can’t take more damage then x2 the locations hitpoints in a single blow. . Any damage that exceeds this limit is ignored. Damage received is subtracted from both Location hit points and General hit points.(it’s not divided between them, the same damage applies to both General hit points and location hitpoints. See the adjacent in play examples in the book) 2. If a hit location has reached its max possible damage limit of x2, then it will not take any more damage, but subsequent hits to that location will still pass on damage to General Hit points (damage which presumably is still capped at the locations x2 limit)
  3. I’m not seeing that ambiguity. I think if you read the in play examples it becomes clear how damage is resolved. It’s much more straight forward in play. Look at all the in play examples and it becomes clear how you should resolve the damage.
  4. Ah ok... i’ll try and clear this up: 1. Yes that’s right 2. Whenever you take damage to a location you subtract that from both the locations hit points, and your general Hit points. Bearing in mind rule one above, which is the fact that a hit location can’t take more then x2 it’s own hit points, and neither can General hit points take more then that limit in a single blow . Once a location has reached its limit of damage (x2) it can’t take any more, however the same location hit again will still pass on the damage to the General hit points bearing in mind the damage limit from point number 1 above. 3. The rules as written do say that limbs need to take that x2 damage in a single blow to engage the shock effect: “However, an adventurer so damaged from a single blow is functionally incapacitated...” However Head, chest, and abdomen need not be just a single blow, culmaltive hits will do it as well, but that’s more academic as once your down to 0 hitpoints in those locations your already suffering badly.
  5. Yes I agree completely with Psuille again - and I’m pretty sure everyone I know measures the negative hit points as Psuille says. So a 5pt arm can only go down to -5 hitpoints (x2), after which any further damage to the arm will only go to Total Hit points. Perhaps the only other slight ambuigiuty is that there is also similarly a limit of x2 damage max that can be recieved through a single blow...*regardless of remaining hit points in that location*. (With the exception of maimed or severed x3, in which case the limb is no longer there, and falling damage can also exceed this limit) So a subsequent hit to a 5pt arm already at x2 limit (minus 5), will go instead only to Total Hit points, up to the maximum damage of x2 the hit location. Edit:...but this is academic as you’re character will likely be dead by then
  6. Yes I agree with this, the examples seem right to me. Although i think there is an important distinction you've missed out in the first paragraph regarding definition of incapacitation (though not in the example) - The definition of *functionally incapacitated* (x2 dam in a single hit) refers to the adventurer ( not just the limb) being functionally incapacitated. This is different from Damage equal to or more than Locations Hit points, which results in a useless limb, but importantly the adventurer is still able to function. Edit: So the really big two debilitating effects only happen if damage is received through a single blow: x2 dam in one hit (Adventurer functionally incapacitated ) x3 dam in one hit ( maimed or severed) With the exception that head, chest and adomen (the vitals) can recieve the x2 damage effect (Adventurer functionally incapacitated ) through cumulative hits. Though again if these vital hit locations are at minus already ( Damage Equal to or More then the Locations hit points ) you’re already suffering some very significant damage effects. In particular the Head or Chest locations, which is pretty much equivalent to being x2 functionally incapacitated, only with a slower rate of bleeding. So there is some overlap with the damage effects depending on hit location, and I can see why Psuille combined them in the opening paragraph.
  7. Heres my take reading RQG rules as written: 1. Your arm takes another 5 pts of damage bringing it to its x 2 damage limit of -5 (minus 5). However remaining damage will still go to Total Hit Points (limited by x2 damage threshold in a single blow) . So Total Hit Points are reduced by the full 10 hit points with the second blow. I think the examples are clear on this. Edit: Importantly, as well as what I've mentioned above the second hit was a big x2 damage to the limb in a single blow, which brings into affect *functionally incapacitated* 2. It is not maimed or severed. Maimed or severed (x3) only happens through damage received from a single blow, not cumulative. However as I pointed out above, the second blow was a big x2 the location HP in a single blow, so the player becomes *functionally incapacitated*. 3. As written it does say x2 damage will *functionally incapacitate* a character only if received through through a *single blow*. If its a result of two separate hits as in your example then it would read that the character is not *functionally incapacitated*, but will still be suffering from the effects of Damage Equal to or More than the Locations Hit Points. In other words a useless limb. - Note though that this is only the case with limbs. Head, chest, and Abdomen will suffer the x2 effect through cumulative blows, not just a single blow. As a side note RQ3 did have the cumulative hits leading to maimed, and a single blow to severed, but that was at the x2 threshold (not x3 as in RQG).
  8. Ah - so I expect the current RQG PDF is the one used for the second printing?
  9. Great thanks, good to hear. No worries, totally understand.
  10. Yes pleased to see many of the clarifications in the latest RQG PDF. Be handy to have an official errata including them for those of us with first printings.
  11. So regarding corrections to the second printing - Is the current RQG PDF on Chaosium’s website the one which has been used for the second printing?
  12. *Starts vigil for the upcoming RuneQuest starter set*
  13. Yes I think your initial read is correct - RQG criticals do maximum special weapon damage and ignore armour. Any damage bonus is rolled as normal
  14. Greg’s creative DNA and vision lives on in the games and our imaginations. Thanks Greg. A wonderful legacy. We’ll keep playing. Deepest condolences to family and friends.
  15. Heh heh - yeah there’s a whole story ark there. #theTragicTrollkin
  16. Ah yes of course. Think i’ll pinch that house rule
  17. Curious - What happens if someone has a negative damage modifier with a crush crit/Special ? Do you actually do less damage then with a normal hit?
  18. P219 - Shield attacks , does not specify whether the loss of parry is applied to just the shield, or also any other held weapon. Suggest further clarification.
  19. P206 - Critical Crush damage is not explained in the section on Crushing damage. This feels like an omission, and could lead to confusion, as the two previous sections on Impale and slashing damage both mention their critical effect.
  20. P206 - Critical Hit section fails to mention *maximum possible special damage* as part of its effect.
  21. P224 Two Weapon Use - “Any adventurer using a weapon in each hand may use them for two attacks, two parries, or one attack and one parry. “ This sentence needs to be altered as it refers to the old rule in RQ2. The change to parry rules in RQG makes the reference to parries redundant.
  22. I don’t find the rules any more complicated then RQ2 was, and I learnt that as youngster. The additional flavousome runes and augmentations don’t feel particularly complex as it’s all percentile based. Having said that it would be helpful for newcomers to have clarifications in a single source for RQG. Jason Durall did a good job of helping clarify of few points on the forum, be good to collate that information into one updatable document soon, particularly now that we have hard copies in our hands.
  23. Yeah postage does seem a little steep. Must be a reason though?
  24. Wow - way to go Chaosium. Already bagged my hardback edition, curious will there be a second printing for the leatherette edition?
×
×
  • Create New...