Jump to content

JavaApp

Members
  • Content Count

    31
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

33 Excellent

About JavaApp

  • Rank
    Advanced Member

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    Playing RQ since 1981. Author of small bits in various Chaosium publication, including Dragon Lords of Melnibone, the revised Miskatonic University, as well as 15,000 words or so in the Great Pendragon Campaign.
  • Current games
    1st Ed Advanced Dungeons & Dragons, Kingdoms of Faerie - an OSR-style treatment of Knightly romance tales.
  • Location
    Near Houston, Texas
  • Blurb
    Yeah, I am an OSR guy.

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks for everyone who replied! There was a huge amount of cool information here., and I am still absorbing it. Thanks, again!
  2. I have a number of questions about the composition of the Lunar Army in Tarsh after the DragonRise. First off, who were the Native Furthest Corps - were there a bunch of different regiments Like the Heartlands Corps, or was this the provincial army and as such did not have regimental differentiation? I assume the highest level of differentiation of Lunar units is the Native Furthest Corps and the Heartlands Corp? What were the composition of the Lunar armies during the Battle of Dangerford and The Battle of the Queens? Were they entirely Tarshite, or did they also have Heartlands Corps elements? Forgive me if there is a single post somewhere dealing with all this.
  3. I brought up this issue recently as well, and Phil Hibbs and others helped me work it out, at least to my satisfaction. You should note that they don't necessarily endorse my method, nonetheless. "A mount (of whatever type) may carry a rider with a SIZ equal to or less than that of the STR of the mount. You need not account for the weight of the rider or that of the mount's bridle, tack, fodder, and gear when figuring its ENC. Only calculate the ENC of the armor, weapons, equipment and loot of the rider that the mount will carry (in other words, the normal ENC of the adventurer). This may mean that the adventurers will need an extra mount or mule to carry food and loot; this will not appreciably slow the overland movement rate of the adventurers." This was a 'best of both worlds' sort of decision, and remains consistent with all current ENC and mount rules. It's not official at all, but I hope it helps some of you. Tangentially, the reason we have encumbrance rules at all was a) keep players from bearing inappropriate types of armor and arms (the librarian with plate and a pole axe) and to have players make choices about loot - how much of it to carry and how much it slows you down. If these issues don't bother you then great; you probably don't need encumbrance rules. In any case, RQG amounts of loot (in terms of coins) are much less than the loot awarded in RQ2, so the ENC rules don't have quite as much significance as they used to.
  4. 'lo all, Anyone recall how ENC for a mount works? If it is the same as a human's, then the average ENC for the mounts (mule/horse) is 19-20. I vaguely recall somewhere there being a rule that allows a horse to carry more, but I don't know what edition that rule appears in, or even if it exists at all. Additionally, does the SIZ of a rider count as ENC for the mount? Anyone remember? Thanks,
  5. This is how I handled this for water elementals. I would use something like this the other elementals, adjusting for the distinct types. Please also note this contains text from the Bestiary along with text I inserted, so it's not by any means official. Remember that movement occurs during the ‘Movement of Non-engaged Characters’ phase, and so adventurers will be engulfed by the elemental before any actions are taken by them. An adventurer may make a Dodge roll to leap out of the way, but that this will consume their entire round, as they must leap outside the area affected by the creature. They will also be left prone after a successful Dodge unless they also make a successful Jump roll. The serpents attack by engulfing their foes and forcing themselves into the mouths and lungs of their victims. Adventurers expecting immersion can hold their breath for a single round without having to make a successful CON x5 roll. On subsequent rounds, (or the first, if they are surprised) characters engulfed must make a die roll of their CON×5 or less on D100 or suffer 1D8 points of damage to the chest location from inhaling water each melee round they are caught within. This is assessed on SR 12 of the round. You should also note this is different from the normal drowning/asphyxiation rules. If they make the CON roll, the target can try to roll the character’s DEX×5 or less on D100 to escape from the grasp of the water elemental. This places them outside of the area engulfed by the elemental (again, on SR 12). Being engulfed prevents most attacks and spells, but if the adventurer makes the initial CON x5 roll, weapons such as daggers, fist, and kick may be used to attack while engulfed (using the standard SR +5 modifier for preparing weapons (in the case of the dagger) on the round the weapon is drawn), but the adventurer gives up the opportunity to make a DEX x5 roll to escape. Grapple attacks may not be attempted, because the elemental is too diffuse to properly hold. You are considered to be engaged when engulfed.
  6. I have a few short questions for the gurus out there, all regarding the Summons of Evil spell (RQG 345). The compulsion to come to the site of the ritual only lasts as long as the effigy remains, but the effigy will actively combat the participants once summoned. It has hit points and a STR score, equal to its POW. This is specified in the spell, and clear. So does it 'animate' the effigy? Why else would it have hit points and STR? If it attacks the adventurers, does it engage in spirit combat? I assume it cast spells during combat if it has them and it is appropriate. When the spirit dies, does the compulsion of the actual material foe to come to the site of the ceremony fade? Or does the ritual continue for the rest of the pre-determined time period, as well as the compulsion?
  7. OK, just dl'ed all the iconics you have posted so far, and pdf'ed them. I'll start filling in the mount/elemental/etc sheets and then PDF them, adding them in the correct order. Won't be able to work on them until Sunday, however. Yes, Jason, I am being a good boy and working on my assignment.
  8. Phil, can you post a link for your Iconic character worksheets? I ran a tournament adventure a couple of months ago, and the main complaint was that the character sheets from the book weren't organized well. More than one person said that they wanted a more 'normal' character sheet. If you have the original stats on your sheet, then we could PDF and send it to Todd Gardiner, so that they can be distributed to tournament and demo GMs. If you only have the new stats, send me a link for that, and I will make the necessary adjustments. The last time I heard, there wasn't much enthusiasm for errata'ing the Iconics, so let us know if that gets decided on as well. Thanks!
  9. I was actually able to get most of these, and you are correct, they are wonderful and very useful for filling in the holes in Pavis & the Big Rubble. Ian Thomson was mostly responsible for these. I know he made several assumptions out of canon, like expanding the size of the Rubble via-a-via New Pavis, but damn, this was good work. Pure. Gloranthan. Gold.
  10. This post cannot be displayed because it is in a password protected forum. Enter Password
  11. This post cannot be displayed because it is in a password protected forum. Enter Password
  12. This post cannot be displayed because it is in a password protected forum. Enter Password
  13. This post cannot be displayed because it is in a password protected forum. Enter Password
  14. This post cannot be displayed because it is in a password protected forum. Enter Password
×
×
  • Create New...