Jump to content

Nicochan

Regulars
  • Content Count

    7
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

3 Neutral

About Nicochan

  • Rank
    Newbie

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    Pathfinder, dark heresy, Eclipse phase
  • Current games
    Rqg
  • Blurb
    Italian
  1. I'm going to start a long term campaing involving the "awakening" of Gbaji's pieces in Dragon Pass. Since our Shaman apprentice is going to become a Shaman as the prologue of the campaign, I would like to find a way to interlace his "awakening" ritual with Gbaji's fist piece awakening. In order to do this I'd like some insight on how Chaos interacts with spirits and the Spirit World: this will be my input to create "my glorantha" in this regards, functionally to the campaing i have in mind.
  2. ok so I'll just stick to the table!
  3. Thanks a lot! Do you happen to know what's the interpretation of page 200: "Parrying a Critical Hit Though the target’s armor does not subtract any damage from a critical hit, a successful parry from a weapon or shield blocks the amount of damage it normally would. However, a weapon that parries a critical hit takes twice the damage it would take normally. If the attacking weapon is a long-hafted weapon or an impaling weapon, the parrying weapon takes no damage. A shield that parries a critical hit receives twice as much damage as normal, and any unabsorbed damage strikes the parrying adventurer." I underlined the sentence that casts a doubt: does this mean that impaling/long-hafted weapons don't do twice the damage to the parrying weapon when they strike a critical, and they just do the regular damage? Or does it mean that impaling/long-hafted NEVER damage the parrying weapon/shield?
  4. Hello there! I stumbled across some doubts regarding critical damage. Starting from page 203, the rule book explains how impaling, slashing and crushing damage works when special successes are rolled: Impaling - double the weapon's damage and possibly impale with all the consequences (not always making the attacker happy). Slashing - double the weapon's damage and possibly make the target unconscious for 1d6 rounds. Crushing - add the maximum rollable bonus damage to the normal damage. When looking for the Critical success, I only find it for Impaling weapons (maximize the roll of the special success) and at the end of the section it says that regardless of the weapon type, "A critical hit ignores the effects of armor or any other protection" (page 206). Ok, fine! I only have a minor doubt about this: a) Do Critical hits ignore spells protections too? Or only armor protection? Shields still block damage I think, since on page 200 it says that "Though the target’s armor does not subtract any damage from a critical hit, a successful parry from a weapon or shield blocks the amount of damage it normally would. However, a weapon that parries a critical hit takes twice the damage it would take normally. If the attacking weapon is a long-hafted weapon or an impaling weapon, the parrying weapon takes no damage. A shield that parries a critical hit receives twice as much damage as normal, and any unabsorbed damage strikes the parrying adventurer". b) And my major doubt: on page 206, "A critical hit [...] usually does maximum impaling, slashing, or crushing damage (depending on weapon type), as described above." Does this mean that slashing and crushing weapons do maximize the damage like impaling weapons do? As I said, there's no trace of this in pages 203 to 206 though..so that's where my doubts come from. Thanks a lot!
  5. One last question about this. Page 195 of the rulebook, in the example: "Vasana, with her DEX 11 (and DEX strike rank of 3) could cast a Demoralize spell, taking 5 strike ranks" Since Demoralize is a 2 magic points spirit spell, it looks like you need to pay the first point of the spell too, contrary to what is written in page 194: "Remember that the first magic point used in the spell has no strike rank modifier."
  6. Why the minus 1? It's because there's the sentence that states that the first magic point is always "sr free"? What do you mean with "new action"? I've read that readying a weapon or a spell it's +5 sr, do you mean those cases? Are you sure you need to add twice her dex sr, since she's doing only the casting action and the movement RAW counts as a "sr modifier"? If she's no weapons in her hands, does the +5 still apply? As I've written before, i got the impression that +5 is added only to ready an unready weapon, or to get one hand free from a weapon or object in order to cast. And in this case, would i only count movement sr? Thanks a lot!
  7. Hello! Sorry for my English but I'm not a native speaker. I've got ho SR in easy situations work, but I have some doubts when I think about actual combats and multiple actions outside of melee. Most problems revolve around movement. First of all, it's quite confusing that they dedicated phase 2 to movement, but from the examples it looks like you can (or must only?) actually move in phase 3. Then, not-engaged pc: 1) does he add dex sr twice if he both casts a spirit magic spell and shoot an arrow? Does it all happen at once at the total sr? Or does he first casts at x sr, and then shoots. At x+y sr? 2) if he moves between those two actions, does sr modifier due to movement adds to the second action only? 3) if he moves before casting, does movement sr modifier add to the casting sr? (consequently, also the shooting will happen later) 4) if context changes a lot after phase 1 declaration of intent due to surprise (eg an hidden creature gets out of nowhere), are pcs allowed to change their actions entirely or not? 5) does gm declares before the pcs do, or the contrary? 6) combination of actions can't surpass 12 sr, but spells can be cast in 37 sr, so at sr 1 of the fourth melee round, as per rulebook. If a pc shoots two arrows and (let's say) is at sr 11 with his second arrow, can he start casting a spirit spell that would require dex sr+3 sr for magic points and cast it in the next melee round at sr 2? 7) since all rune spells if not boosted get casted at sr 1 (i assume dex sr does not apply here?), a pc will never be able to do anything else BEFORE casting a rune spell? Or only move + rune spell (casting it at movement sr+1) Or that's not what they intended, and it simply means that rune spells "cost" 1 sr?
×
×
  • Create New...