Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Godlearner

  1. Spirit Screen is incompatible with Countermagic, Protection, and Shimmer. It is also a ranged spell. Is it possible to use it on the enemy to take down their smaller Countermagic, Shimmer or Protection spell? Or casting it ahead of time to prevent an opponent from casting a similar level Countermagic, Shimmer or Protection?

    • Like 1
    • Haha 1
  2. 1 minute ago, PhilHibbs said:

    There's a long way between "I prefer slightly more to be detailed in the rules", which is fine as a position, and throwing a "Not everything is detailed therefore why just don't detail anything" tantrum.

    Tantrum? I would say more of an extrapolation of "whatever the GM thinks best" as an answer. As a lot of people here, I been role playing for 40+ years and advice of just make it up as you go does not fly well with me. 

  3. Thank you for your answers. From what I am gathering so far, technically one gets an allied rune spell originally form the allied deity's shrine/temple which may actually be located in their temple. But, they could also get it by going to the allied cult's temple as well. All good on this.

    Being able to use POW from both pools to make one really big spell and in fact bigger than if you one was just an initiate of one ... does not seem right. In the previous example of an Orlanthi - Storm Bull would one even need to sacrifice for Shield as an Orlanthi, if it was one previously as a Storm Bull?

  4. Quote

    Whatever the GM thinks best and whatever works narratively in the game at that moment.

    Sure, that is GM style. It can apply to almost anything in the rules. Why even have rules? Why roll dice? Just freeform and tell stories.

    • Like 1
  5. Quote

    I agree that it doesn't work under mind-control or under direct threat of murder, but what about for instance taxation or fines? You don't have to donate POW, you can pay the very high monetary taxes/serve your full sentence in the quarry instead, it's completely up to you. 

    Yeah, but then you have a situation of "please voluntary donate POW or we kill your wife". 

  6. I am sorry if this was asked before, I have not seen it. If a player wishes to gain and be able to cast a Rune spell from an allied cult (for example Flight from Orlanth as an Issaries initiate), would the procedure be the same as getting a special rune spell from his cult/temple, or would he need find and visit the allied cult temple/shrine to and sacrifice  POW to gain the knowledge of the spell (I understand he would use the same Rune Pool to cast it).

    If one is an initiate of two allied cults Orlanth and Storm Bull for example and gained a spell which the one cult offers to the other as allies, lets say Shield from Orlanth to Storm Bull, which Rune Pool should it be cast from? Would the player need to sacrifice for it from both, and could it be stacked since its has ultimately came from the same source? 

  7. 5 minutes ago, Kloster said:

    Why? (just curious)

    As pointed out, it is too open to abuse. All you need to do is Dominate/Command/Control spell and you are sitting on a POW mine.

    And I am not even mention just plain old fashion coercion.

  8. Quote

    The POW sacrificed for the enchantment does not have to be provided entirely by the enchanter; if the enchanter sacrifices at least 1 point of their own POW, others can voluntarily contribute to the sacrifice, with no limit.

    Yeap, this piece I have inked out of my book as an editing mistake.

  9. Quote

    Yes, that’s the balancing meta-game reason, I get that, but what’s the reason people in Glorantha produce for explaining this incredibly weird property of the glue?

    Not really as this spell requires a touch, and I would require a POW vs POW roll for something like that as well.

    • Like 2
  10. Quote

    Maybe, if the GM feels that the preparation is right. I wouldn't allow a mechanistic die rolling off stage event, but would certainly allow for thoughtful preparation, correct materials, and ritual preparation as part of an adventure. Why are they creating it? Who is it for? What do they do to prepare the object for the matrix? If they just want two, just to sell, then unless they were a merchant, i'd say it was unlikely to work

    And you have a full right to do this. YGWV and all that, but I prefer a more rule based answer as to it can or can not be done.

  11. Quote

    There's the pretty big downside of losing around a tenth of your soul every time you make one, at minimum, with a decent risk of making something nearly worthless unless you pump some more into it. Plus, anyone who's not a shaman or regularly adventuring has a relatively tough time recovering Power.

    Its not really 10%, more like 6% as I do not expect anyone with a POW of 10 to do this. Even an NPC gets POW gain roll several time a year and we are talking over a period of years anyway.

  12. 4 minutes ago, David Scott said:

    Like a lot of things this is a GM call. Depending on what the adventurer was trying to achieve, whether it contributed to the story, MGF, etc. Can you give an example of how this came up in your game. It's always good to look at the practical issues in play. For example, if my group were trying to make a copy of a magical item, they might very well be trying to do this.

    As this has just came out in the Red Book of Magic, it has not occurred in game, but the possibility is there. For example on resent adventure the group had defeated a barrow wight and some skeletons and among the loot they came across a Bludgeon 1 matrix in an old bracelet. If one of the party had Spell Matrix Enchantment spell, is he now able to create Bludgeon 1 matricies? 

  13. Ok, lets say a PC is being chased by a bare footed undead, whichever type, or guards wearing sandals, and decides to use the Glue spell in a corridor as a trap to slow or stop the pursuit. Would that work or would the creature need to stop, such as to open the door, for that to happen?

    • Like 1
  • Create New...