Jump to content

kenco

Members
  • Content Count

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About kenco

  • Rank
    Newbie

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    Played various RPGs since the early '80s
  • Current games
    Running 3 home-brew fantasy/ sc-fi campaigns. Playing Dragon Warriors, OD&D.
  • Blurb
    Likes board games, too.

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks for getting back to me. That's very helpful, especially in relation to A & C. In relation to case b) it seems like the other guy can stop my character moving off the spot by attacking, unless my character passes a dodge test. So this is not a case of 'turn and bolt, regardless of the consequences', which is the one I had in mind. Or is the idea in the above that if the opponent attacks and the dodge fails, the opponent has chased after the fleeing character, stabbed her in the back and are still hot on her heels? I feel like I'm missing some key principle here about how the rules envisage movement out of combat and/or pursuit.
  2. Hey, thanks for answering - I appreciate your putting in the time. My PDF says "Fourth Printing September 2017", and the full text of that section is exactly as you have given it. My quote might be confusing because I only included the final sentence (which is exactly the same as yours), not the whole section. So unfortunately, this doesn't really answer my question. At Movement Combat Actions on p72, the section on Retreat says: Retreat: A character decides to escape the combat. See “Disengaging from Combat” on page 64 I.e. It looks like a circular reference to me. Is there some other section I should be looking at? I can't see answers there to the specific questions in my OP. Perhaps I have misunderstood what is meant by 'fight their way out of combat'? The cases I had in mind all start with the character engaged in melee combat to his/her front, and then continue with: A) character wants to create (by attacking/ parrying etc) or take advantage of a naturally occurring (by timing) instant of safety in which to turn and flee out of sword-reach without danger of being cut down almost immediately in the process. B ) Character wants to turn and flee regardless of risk of being cut down on the spot C) Character wants to back slowly out of combat without compromising defence, leaving the choice about whether to continue the melee in the hands of the opponent (fighting backwards...) A case I hadn't considered is when the character tries to hack a way forward past an opponent, to break into the clear. Whichever cases are covered, I'm still confused about what procedure to follow. Peace Kenco
  3. I am having a closer look at my PDF of OpenQuest Basic, and I am having trouble understanding how to apply 'Disengaging from combat'. Specifically I am looking at the Opposed case described on page 64 as follows: If the character is attempting to Fight their way out of combat, use the Retreat Movement Action (See Movement Actions below), where the character fights one more round of combat and if successful escapes the combat. How is this normally interpreted/ applied? My doubt centres on the phrase 'fights one more round of combat'. Three specific questions: 1) When does the character actually get to move away from the combat? Say I declare this in my turn on round 1. Then I 'fight one more round' - I suppose that means I have to stand in place for at least one round before moving away - and then I get to move away in my turn on round 2? 2) What happens during 'fight one more round'? I suppose I have to stay in place and defend against attacks until my next chance to move. Do I get to attack, or is losing that attack roll the price of disengaging? 3) What counts as 'success' in 'fighting one more round'? Is the idea that e.g. I use my attack to make a close combat attack, and only if that attack 'succeeds' does my character get away? And can the opponent parry or dodge my 'attack' as usual? Or do I just need to roll a 'success'? OR does just surviving that extra combat round = success? In my copy the section on Movement Actions below mentioned in the quote above refers me back to page 64, with no further info. I suppose there are other questions, too, but these are my main ones. Can anyone help?
×
×
  • Create New...