Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'magic rune'.
Found 1 result
So I've been re-reading over p.382-390 of the Sorcery chapter and I'm trying to figure out how the rules indicate the Magic Rune works. Previously, I thought that it was similar to how the Magic Rune is treated in the descriptions of Rune magic, where the sorcerer could substitute any other Rune when that symbol appeared in the spell description. However, I think that assumption was in error because I'm not finding an actual statement of that in the rules text. Am I missing something? The spells this is relevant for are: Castback, Drain Soul, Magic Point Enchantment, Neutralize Magic, Pierce Veil, and Protective Circle. Page 382 has a sidebar describing the Magic Rune as a Condition Rune, rather than an Element, Power, or Form. This led (leads?) me to believe it was not a Rune which sorcerers could normally master. Although the Malkioni are noted as having mastered the Magic Rune on page 389; I wasn't sure how to understand this, and just sort of hand-waved it away as irrelevant for the time being because the Malkioni and Aeolianism entries seem incomplete for use by players without a good deal of GM improvisation. Now I'm not so sure. Can sorcerers master the Magic Rune in the same sense that they master the Beast or Darkness Runes? Does it have associated Runes? Is mastery of this Rune necessary for casting the above spells? etc. is what's wandering through my head.