Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'rules help'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • The Chaosium Forums
    • Basic Roleplaying
    • Glorantha
    • RuneQuest
    • Call of Cthulhu
    • Pendragon & Prince Valiant
    • HeroQuest
    • Mythic Worlds
    • Cult of Chaos
  • The D100 Family
    • Mythras
    • OpenQuest
    • Renaissance
    • Revolution D100
    • Legend
    • Quest21
    • Delta Green
  • Other Stuff
    • Alastor's Skull Inn
    • Inactive forums

Blogs

  • Blog Trifletraxor
  • Notes from Underground
  • Blog Chaot
  • Blog soltakss
  • Blog RosenMcStern
  • Blog threedeesix
  • Blog Triff
  • Blog Aycorn
  • Blog tzunder
  • Blog PZiviani
  • Blog Conrad
  • Mos Eisley Cantina
  • Blog alexraccoon
  • Blog raymond_turney
  • Blog Merak Gren
  • Blog rleduc
  • Dark moon Chronicles- setting and info
  • Blog threshold
  • Blog skull
  • Blog rpgstarwizard
  • Blog Vorax Transtellaris
  • Blog travellingbeetle
  • Blog Bleddyn
  • Blog kevinhun
  • Blog jagerfury
  • Blog coyote
  • Blog Dryhad
  • Blog Peter K.
  • Blog Robar
  • Blog Tester
  • Blog ptingler
  • Blog nerdvana
  • Blog Old Timer
  • Blog smjn
  • Blog Stoatbringer
  • Blog Target
  • Blog Moonowol67
  • Sunwolfe's Blog of Holding
  • The Reign of Dragons
  • Sparrowhawk's Roost
  • RPG Imaginings
  • The Bardori Saga
  • Amusing Musings
  • Red Cows in the Borderlands
  • Dethstrok9 YouTube Channel

Categories

  • RuneQuest in Glorantha
  • Generic
    • GORE
    • Alternate rules
    • GM Resources
    • Character sheets
  • Fantasy/Historic
    • Magic World
    • Mongoose RuneQuest
    • Middle Earth
    • Vhraeden
    • Warlords of Alexander
    • Classic RuneQuest
    • Ancient Rome
    • Fire and Sword
    • The Green
    • Other
  • Modern
    • Old West
    • Call of Cthulhu
    • Other
  • Science Fiction
    • Star Wars
    • Terminator
    • Halo
    • Other
  • Super Hero
    • City of Heroes
    • Superhero Characters
    • Other
  • Mythras
    • Classic Fantasy
  • Revolution D100

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


RPG Biography


Current games


Location


Blurb

Found 4 results

  1. I searched for and found another thread related to this topic, but it was almost a year old. I just want to clarify and make sure I understand the interactions between "regular" spirit binding (RQG p249) and POW storing crystals (GM Adventure Book p121). POW storing crystals may be used to either store magic points or store a spirit. The owner may select what the crystal is storing (magic or spirit) and change it. POW storing crystals are natural objects, not created via enchantments, but through mythic processes (dead gods). To store magic points, the user must only concentrate (like casting a spell) to inject the desired magic into the crystal. To store a spirit, the user must use either Spirit Binding or an appropriate Command [Spirit] spell to force the spirit into the crystal. Unlike normal binding enchantments (RQG p249) which may allow the user to use the spells and knowledge (but not magic points) of the bound spirit while it still remains within the binding enchantment [the rules fuzzy here], the spirit within a POW storage crystal can only provide magic points to the user, not cast spells or provide any useful intelligence (GMAB p122) while it remains within the crystal, although the user may release the spirit to perform one action (and depart) or use a Command spell to order it to perform several actions and return to the crystal (just like a normal binding enchantment). Spirits in normal binding enchantments and POW storage crystals count against the users CHA limits for bound entities and all such entities are released when the user dies.
  2. Hello there! I stumbled across some doubts regarding critical damage. Starting from page 203, the rule book explains how impaling, slashing and crushing damage works when special successes are rolled: Impaling - double the weapon's damage and possibly impale with all the consequences (not always making the attacker happy). Slashing - double the weapon's damage and possibly make the target unconscious for 1d6 rounds. Crushing - add the maximum rollable bonus damage to the normal damage. When looking for the Critical success, I only find it for Impaling weapons (maximize the roll of the special success) and at the end of the section it says that regardless of the weapon type, "A critical hit ignores the effects of armor or any other protection" (page 206). Ok, fine! I only have a minor doubt about this: a) Do Critical hits ignore spells protections too? Or only armor protection? Shields still block damage I think, since on page 200 it says that "Though the target’s armor does not subtract any damage from a critical hit, a successful parry from a weapon or shield blocks the amount of damage it normally would. However, a weapon that parries a critical hit takes twice the damage it would take normally. If the attacking weapon is a long-hafted weapon or an impaling weapon, the parrying weapon takes no damage. A shield that parries a critical hit receives twice as much damage as normal, and any unabsorbed damage strikes the parrying adventurer". b) And my major doubt: on page 206, "A critical hit [...] usually does maximum impaling, slashing, or crushing damage (depending on weapon type), as described above." Does this mean that slashing and crushing weapons do maximize the damage like impaling weapons do? As I said, there's no trace of this in pages 203 to 206 though..so that's where my doubts come from. Thanks a lot!
  3. Edit: Thanks for your help! One piece of the puzzle has become clear; I was incorrectly equating the damage absorbed by a weapon/shield as also being the damage it received in certain circumstances (such as with a critical or special hit vs a normal parry). I now understand that the weapon/shield absorbs up to it's current HP in damage, and then any remaining damage applies as per the chart on page 199. I'm still not entirely clear about the wording on page 200 "Parrying a Critical Hit" vs the Parry table on 199, but I've posted an edited version of question 2 in the Core Rules thread on these forums. Great stuff I looked! I promise! But unfortunately I can't quite locate an answer to these particular questions. I'm struggling a just a little when it comes to the concept of HP with Weapons and Shields, particularly in regards to parrying. What I've learned so far can best be summarised below: The current total HP of a weapon or shield indicates how much damage it can absorb while parrying, with any remaining damage carrying over to strike the defender. At 0 HP the Weapon or Shield becomes "unusable" - it can still be used, but at half skill penalty. At 0 HP and above the weapon/shield can be repaired in the field, but damage taken into the negative requires special attention. A weapon or shield can take twice it's max total HP before it's destroyed. So here are the missing pieces of this particular puzzle: It becomes clear that parrying with a weapon or shield that is "unusable" will not block any damage, since it's current total HP is is at or below 0. However am I right in reading that an "unusable" weapon can (for example) still be used to parry if a special or critical result is rolled against a normal attack? In the case of a critical attack vs a normal parry, the parry chart shows that the defender's weapon/shield has it's HP reduced by the damage rolled. However in the blurb on page 200 it states that while the weapon/shield blocks the damage it normally would, it receives double the damage from the attack. To my mind, as written, this makes little sense... if I have an undamaged small shield imposed against a critically attacking broad sword, the broad sword will deal max damage (18 + damage bonus). The small shield then absorbs 8 damage as normal, but receives another 8 damage on top and is destroyed. If it had less HP, it wouldn't be destroyed since it could only absorb up to it's current HP total. I'm quite sure this is just a case of extremely confusing wording, but clarification would be grand. Returning to the chart for special/critical attacks vs normal parries, it makes it clear that the parrying weapon or shield receives damage over it's normal HP. This ties into my confusion from the above question, so I just want to make absolutely sure I have this correct - A special attack swings in against my normal small shield parry for 14 points of damage. My small shield takes 8 points of damage while also absorbing the same, leaving 6 damage remaining from the attack and my shield at 0 HP. This 6 damage penetrates my defences, ignoring armour, dealing direct damage to the arm carrying the shield. In addition my small shield receives an equal amount of damage, bringing it to -6HP. Is this correct? Thanks very much guys. Your help is hugely appreciated
  4. I am having a closer look at my PDF of OpenQuest Basic, and I am having trouble understanding how to apply 'Disengaging from combat'. Specifically I am looking at the Opposed case described on page 64 as follows: If the character is attempting to Fight their way out of combat, use the Retreat Movement Action (See Movement Actions below), where the character fights one more round of combat and if successful escapes the combat. How is this normally interpreted/ applied? My doubt centres on the phrase 'fights one more round of combat'. Three specific questions: 1) When does the character actually get to move away from the combat? Say I declare this in my turn on round 1. Then I 'fight one more round' - I suppose that means I have to stand in place for at least one round before moving away - and then I get to move away in my turn on round 2? 2) What happens during 'fight one more round'? I suppose I have to stay in place and defend against attacks until my next chance to move. Do I get to attack, or is losing that attack roll the price of disengaging? 3) What counts as 'success' in 'fighting one more round'? Is the idea that e.g. I use my attack to make a close combat attack, and only if that attack 'succeeds' does my character get away? And can the opponent parry or dodge my 'attack' as usual? Or do I just need to roll a 'success'? OR does just surviving that extra combat round = success? In my copy the section on Movement Actions below mentioned in the quote above refers me back to page 64, with no further info. I suppose there are other questions, too, but these are my main ones. Can anyone help?
×
×
  • Create New...