Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'spell casting'.
Hi. I've got some questions related to shamans and fetches that I've been trying to figure out. I'm playing RQ3, but will appreciate answers from other systems. My group have played RQ for a long time, so we have plenty of house rules and rule specifications, but we always try to find answers in the rules and supplements before changing/extending rules. Sorry that this is a bit long, but here goes: 1) Can a fetch cast spells when the shaman is not discorporate? The RQ3 magic book states that the fetch appears on the mundane plane and guards the body while the shaman is discorporate. It also states that the fetch can cast spells, and has access to the shamans' spells, in this situation. The RQ3 Magic Book however never states that a fetch can cast spells 'on it's own' in regular situations (when the fetch is on the spirit plane and the shaman is in his body). Can a fetch cast spells when the shaman is not discorporate? If it can, can it do so 'independent og the shaman, effectively enabling the shaman-fetch-pair to cast two spells at once? In my current Glorantha the answer to 1a) and 1b) is yes, but is this consistent with general Gloranthan thinking, RQ3 or other RQ versions? 2) Can a shaman and fetch send sprits back and forth between planes? RQ3 Magic books describes that a fetch can hold spirits that the shaman has beaten, and that the shaman can use these spirits later for healing, exorcism etc. This implies that a shaman can beat a sprit on the mundane plane, and then transfer that sprit back to the spirit plane via the shaman-fetch-link. Later, the spirit can be pulled into the mundane plane though that same link (no Summon needed to transport a spirit between planes). Is this correct? If so, when a spirit is pulled from the spirit plane into the mundane plane, will it become visible? (would it not have to in order to initiate spirit combat?) Can a shaman use a control spell and send a spirit into the spirit plane and the fetch instead of beating it in spirit combat? 3) If a fetch can cast spells, can it cast spells on the mundane plane? The answer to question 1) above will obviously impact this question. I also imagine that the answer to question 2) should impact this question. Can a fetch cast spells on the shaman? Protection etc to prepare for combat, Healing during combat and even when the shaman is unconscious? Can a fetch cast spells on targets on the mundane plane that the shaman is touching? Can a fetch cast spells on targets on the mundane plane that the shaman is not touching? The fetch will need to perceive the target somehow. Thanks and regards, -Terry