Speak other languages (not Dragon Pass)

Manu

IN RQG, there is a precise list of languages and relations with other languages in Dragon Pass.

In the GtG, for each culture, they describe the languages spoken. But they are not as precise as in the rule book.

For instance, in Fonrit, Afadjanni and Kareeshtu are described as 'It is related to Afadjanni and Banamban, although the languages are not mutually intelligible.'

Does it mean than if you speak Kareeshtu, you cannot speak a work of the other language? Is it 1/10? 1/5? 1/2?

In the western culture, they say ' Malki: spoken by the Malkioni of Umathela. Closely related to Seshnegi.'. Closely related, is it 1/2, 1/5 or 1/10?

I'm no expert at Pamaltela but I'll give it a shot.

I would say that the only part of Afadjanni, Banamban, and Kareeshtu are intelligible with each other is the ancient parts of Firespeech and Earthtongue that remain in the language, and some Vadeli, and Seshnegi that was borrowed from interactions with the Vadeli, and God Learners, otherwise they cannot natively understand each other.

So I would have Firespeech, Earthtongue, and Vadeli/Seshnegi as your language equivalencies, assigning 1/2, 1/5, 1/10 based upon the history of each region (probably don't use 1/2 for any of this, stick to 1/5, and 1/10). Maybe Afadjanni would have 1/5 with Vadeli, but again I am no expert so feel free to change it.

As for the Malki question, I would lean either 1/2 or 1/5, I could see the language equivalence drifting towards 1/5 but with the advent of Rokarism in Seshnela, there being a push for an older style of Seshnegi, and it being closer to 1/2.

Edited by Mirza

The real question is: which areas speak Artmali languages, because they're from the (Blue) Moon! Veldang are Artmali and live in Zamokil, Fonrit and Caridad, but I don't know which groups still speak Artmali. The Blueskin Veldang might not... or they might. There's a lot of Blueskins in Fonrit, far far outnumbering the Agimori there.