Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Mounted vs. Afoot should use the Mounted vs. Mounted table. 

The omission was a slight error  in 5th edition. Back in KAP 4 which table you used was solely based on if the PK Commander's Unit was mounted (fiest, better table) or afoot (second,worse table).  KAP5 expanded that by allowing PK units that are afoot to use the first (better) table when facing other footmen. Sonow if the PKs are on foot, facinga Saxon horde,they are not penalized.

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
22 hours ago, YwainDigsLions said:

do you just need to win the round of combat to be able to take an opponent hostage for ransom?

That would lead to way too many captives. Not to mention, the PKs themselves are not captured when they lose a round, so why would the NPKs be?

My rule of thumb is that if you crit your weapon roll during the battle round, you also get a captive, IF the round is a success for your team, too. I.e. more wins than losses.

In BoB2, taking a prisoner opportunity opens up if you have knocked the enemy unconscious (usually via Major Wound). But it is its own little procedure that you need to go through, it is not automatic.

 

Edited by Morien
Link to post
Share on other sites

Generally you have to defeat the foe, and then have a squire free who can take the prisoner from the field of battle back to your lines. Unless of course you want to do it yourself. 

That would limit the number of prisoners since a knight would either run out of squires, or he would miss a round or so getting to and from the battle.

Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, Atgxtg said:

Generally you have to defeat the foe, and then have a squire free who can take the prisoner from the field of battle back to your lines. Unless of course you want to do it yourself. 

That would limit the number of prisoners since a knight would either run out of squires, or he would miss a round or so getting to and from the battle.

There's your reason to have 2+ squires, if you can afford it.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Khanwulf said:

There's your reason to have 2+ squires, if you can afford it.

Yes, that definitely is part of it. In BoB you also have to make squire rolls to see if they can keep up with you during a battle, so an extra squire can often make the difference between getting a ransom or not.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...