Seeking suggestions for “Ducks on the Road” campaign

DannyK

Hi Rune Friends,

I am thinking about running a RuneQuest or HQ campaign focused on ducks, just because I like ducks.

I’m fairly new to Glorantha and I’d like to explore a lot of different locations with the players, rather than focusing on one little piece of the map. That might work better with my fairly superficial knowledge of the setting. Kind of an episodic game, treating travels briefly except maybe for dramatic combats, and then jumping to the next destination. 

I read some of the Travels of Biturian Varosh, so my initial idea was to recreate some of that, maybe with Ducks from Sartar who need to leave home in hurry in the aftermath of the Starbrow Rebellion and Duck Hunt, and one of them has cousins who live on the River of Cradles... I was initially thinking of having them be Lunarized Duck Irregulars but that’s maybe a step too far.

Are there any suggestions for how to structure this, can’t miss places to visit, story hooks, etc?

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I, too, can't seem to fall out of love with the Ducks although I'm more a Big Gold Book guy and utterly ignorant of the deep lore of both Glorantha and Hero Quest.  My take would be an avian crew hitting the starways in their quirky but thoroughly serviceable Druluz rocketship (heavy on the chrome and rivets).  "Ducks can't fly, eh?  Blow it out your eggshell, Chuckles, we'll show you!"  Ducks!  In!  Spaaaaaaace!

Less Star Trek or Traveller, more "Keet Gordon pilots the Solar Queen."

Edited by seneschal
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, seneschal said: