Generating Family History for AD 439 or earlier

Hello,

I'm new to Pendragon, but not Chaosium or Arthurian myth/legends.  I joined a new game which is starting up soon and the GM has it set in AD 439.  I noticed the Book of Sires offers a little bit about AD 439/earlier, but none of the event tables for player knight generation are really setup for that early of a time period.   The GM has given some generic values to randomize for Glory for Great Grandfather/Grandfather/Father, but nothing else yet.   Any suggestions/ideas or should I not fret about it to much?

First off check with your GM to see if they have something already.  There are a lot of alternate takes on things, especially that early on, and you will want follow their lead on how certain events play out. Yes, there are some key event's that take place prior to 439, that we could go  over, but just which version of them and how much your PK knows about them  is up to your GM.You probably should also check  with the GM  about looking through SIRES as it is like peeking into the future. 

I can fill you in on some of the happening prior to 439,  and even set up a campaign to  start in 410, and have generation tables that go back to t he 360s or so, but you really should check with your GM first to  find out how they want to handle all of this.

Chaos stalks my world, but she's a big girl and can take of herself.

28 minutes ago, Atgxtg said:

I can fill you in on some of the happening prior to 439,  and even set up a campaign to  start in 410, and have generation tables that go back to t he 360s or so, but you really should check with your GM first to  find out how they want to handle all of this.

He currently has nothing, although, he said he might try doing something (he's new to the system too I believe).    He approved using Book of Sires and Book of Knights and Ladies for PK generation.   

Edited by LandoTheArchmagi

50 minutes ago, LandoTheArchmagi said:

the GM has it set in AD 439.