Jump to content

negative DB and bows


Shadowdragon

Recommended Posts

I would think you would only add 1/2 the negaqtive db. I can't see why the db peanlty would be twice as bad with a thrown weapon. So a -1D4DB could just use -1D2.

For bows, another other would be to tie the damage rating of the bow to it's draw weight. Realistically, a archer would not want to draw more than this, even if he was very strong, as it would weaken and eventually destroy the bow.

Chaos stalks my world, but she's a big girl and can take of herself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If a character with a negative DB uses a weapon that adds 1/2 the DB is the DB really doubled?

According to page 29 BRP? Yup!

Getting a -2d4 penalty on damage rolls seems excessively harsh ...

Yup! But look at Halflings on page 345 BRP they have a -1d6 DB but they also get a cheeky get out clause.

I seem to recall that in RQ, the 1/2 DB only occured for thrown weapons, bows and slings didn't use the DB at all. Hadn't really noticed this rule in BRP, I would think twice before using it.

Mr Jealousy has returned to reality!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...