[Duck Lore] A request for the francophones!

Stew Stansfield

Wotcher!

It is vitally (vitally) important that I find an appropriate expression in French. My French is OK on a grammatical level, but I have little to no idiomatic knowledge, so would really appreciate a little help.

I'd like to find an equivalent expression to femme fatale for ducks. (I told you this was important!) It has to be alliterative, and will preferably have a broader or more abstract quality (as opposed to being strictly literal). It doesn't have to be a direct mimicry of 'fatale', but it should have an element of sultry exoticism and/or danger, and allude to all the brilliantly dodgy film-noir tropes. ("Oh, maybe just warble. You do know how to warble, don't you...?")

My favourite attempt so far has been cane capiteuse, in the sense of heady or intoxicating. Would that work in the sense I mean?

Other options include cane captivante (which I'm not as fond of) and cane cramoisie. The latter's potentially interesting, both being an abstract parallel to the 'scarlet woman' trope and in having a reference to Moony deviance (with all that entails). I'll likely also have a masculine variant of this (canard capiteux, canard cramoisi, etc.) aswell.

Or does anyone have any better suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

@Manimati's suggestion is very good!

The best I can come up with so far is:

• "canette pas nette": "canette" is a small female duck, like the duck equivalent of "girl", and "pas nette" means "shady", in the sense that there's something untrustworthy, mysterious, and possibly dangerous about the person.
  • "volaille racaille": not as good since it's more generic.... "volaille" translates to "fowl" or "poultry" (no real bias for female animals, but the noun itself is female), while "racaille" denotes danger but in a more thug/brawler way. It might be useful as slang for a band of rowdy Humakti or Uroxi, though.