Fencing skill musings

Susimetsa

I'm very new to the system (having played one of the first editions of Runequest back in late 80's) and unfamiliar with the balances etc. Still, I'm looking to instill some historical colour to rapier fencing. Looking at some of the old masters, I made some arbitrary choices on what their possible strengths might be, but I wind up in trouble when trying to turn them into RPG terms. This means that my ideas of possible talents and bonuses etc. are probably not even close to what they should be.

So, basically, I'd like to hear some input and ideas pertaining to my initial draft:

Fencing styles / schools

Fencing (school) - An advanced skill learned separately for each school. To be rolled at the beginning of an encounter. Possibly repeated if the fencer loses focus for some reason (interruption or serious wound). On successful roll, the fencer gains the advantage(s) listed underneath the school of fencing for that encounter. Only one fencing school can be used at a time.

Di Grassi’s school

“Therefore leauing aside this maner of defence, let each man vse to oppose, one only weapon against the enimies sworde, keeping the other free, that he may be able to strike at his pleasure.”

- Two-weapon mastery - no -20% for offhand use.

Fabris’ school

“No defensive or offensive action can be effected outside of the four guards [...] I have used pictures to illustrate the sheer variety of postures, of positions of the sword, feet and body that can be derived from them.”

- Scientific approach - Lines of attack - 

Thibault’s school

“once we have contact between the blades, we are able to make our approaches against the adversary with assurance, since we are certain always to know in time the designs he intends to use against us, which no are sooner begun than we have already prepared ourselves against them.”

- Destreza approach - Using the circle - part of dance skill bonus to defense?

Fiore’s school