Recommend a starting location for my new game

seasparrow

Hello Friends

I have decided to get into Glorantha. So far I have purchased the core  rule book, and listened to the first seven or eight episodes of the Tales of Mythic Adventure Podcast  (very rough start, but now liking it a lot).

The podcast suggested a few locations I might be interested in, and based on that I bid for some products on Ebay-- the Dorastor book was sniped away from me in the last ten seconds (well played!) but I did score Sun County for what I thought was a reasonable price.

I am new to Glorantha, and almost completely new to the BRP ruleset. Which is weird, since I have been roleplaying since 1979, but I guess I never met the right people who were into Glorantha, and my Pulp needs in those days were filled by the Daredevils RPG and later by Evil Hat's Spirit of the Century. 

I am going to run a game to help better learn the world and the rules, and tailor it similarly as a teaching game for new players. 

The themes I personally want to focus on are low-fantasy, community level adventures in mostly one small area. I loved the idea of settling a new land, and creating a new clan-- that is why I was bidding on the Dorastor book, so I could read the Riskland campaign setting. Also really lean into the "everyday" magic and life in an extended family, and building up a homestead from nothing. Also, interaction with gods, but in a smaller scale way-- answers to prayers for minor problems, divine assistance with the birth of a calf, that sort of thing. I want to keep the scale small and personal.

From the other research I have done, and also my luck in bidding, I am now thinking Sun County might be good for me, especially since there are at least three new Jonstown books for it, and I could easily work with the Sandheart Militia framing device of those adventures.