Confusion over maneuvers in 7th edition and movement in combat

Feylong

I am just learning 7th edition CoC and have so far just run the starter solo adventure and the  follow up Paper Chase, luckily there was no combat involved.

I decided to start reading through the full Keeper book before moving onto a full session with a few friends. All was going well until I got to the section on combat. I have a couple of questions:-

1) on page 102 there is an example where it says I'm going to punch the guard, then run for the open door. However, on the very same page it clearly states that flee is an action as is to attck. Yet this example implies it would be a single action.

2) Staying with this example the Keepers reply is The guard is going to try to grab you. However, on page 103 is definately states that if attacked by melee your only choices are to dodge or fight back. this example is implying you could use a maneuver instead.Looking at the flow chart on page 109 would seem to backup the example not page 103.

• Like 1

13 hours ago, Feylong said:

1) on page 102 there is an example where it says I'm going to punch the guard, then run for the open door. However, on the very same page it clearly states that flee is an action as is to attck. Yet this example implies it would be a single action.

I submitted a query about spending an action to flee: do you need to spend an action just to disengage from melee, or is the action required to flee the combat altogether. Turns out it's to flee the combat entirely.

But it does make sense that you escape the combat be smacking the guard in the nose, and while he's staggered and blinded by tears you bolt for the door. So in a sense, you used your action to flee the combat.

In the end it's at Keeper discretion, I suppose.

• Like 1

10 hours ago, tendentious said: