Looking for a new setting

Trifletraxor

Hi guys!

I've been playing in Glorantha for ages, but I'm now looking for a new historic fantasy setting to game in.

Anyone that has any experience with Harn? How are the supplements, and how easy is it to convert? And the feel of the world?

I also had a look on The World of Khaas, Legendary Lands of Arduin - a systemless 800 pages big book with a systemless setting. Anyone who knows anything about this one?

Or any other recommendations?

SGL.

Ef plest master, this mighty fine grub!
b1.gif 116/420. High Priest.

I'm not a Harn expert, have some stuff and have played a little.

Most of the modules are setting descriptions and on the whole systemless. Harn is a gritty and fairly realistic setting, based on Medieval Europe but does include Tolkien elves, dwarves and a rather different version of orcs. The fantastic elements can be ignored without too much trouble if one so desires.

Harnmaster, the rules, is a D100-like system and conversion should be easy.

Hi guys!

I've been playing in Glorantha for ages, but I'm now looking for a new historic fantasy setting to game in.

Or any other recommendations?

SGL.

I was in the same boat about two years ago, so I created my own Bronze Age historical fantasy setting which contained a lot of ideas I've had floating around for a few years. It's been very popular with my group, in part becuase it was built on the shoulders of giants.

One of those giants is The Known World, the setting for Artesia (comic and game). If you can find Artesia: Adventures in the Known World I highly recomment it as a book. The world is wonderfully detailed, consistent, and logical enough to feel historical, and yet it still feels fantastical. I occasionally hear people say that BRP should have been the system for this setting, but I don't know of any actual conversions. The setting is not nearly as well supported as Glornatha, but that's probably a good thing when you're just starting out.