Gamemastering Apple Lane; Aka How to Role play a village

skulldixon

Being new to Runequest, I decided to start my group off in Apple Lane and I am nearing then end of the first three main adventures that take place in the Gamemaster's Adventure book.

One of the unique aspect of Runequest: Glorantha is that the players are not free booting adventurers, exploring the world and collecting money and enemies as they go. Instead they are members of an active community and this is where I run into some trouble at times. I have very little experience as a player or Gamemaster in this type of roleplaying game.

So my question here comes in two parts.

1) If you ran or played a campaign in Apple Lane, what kind of things - events - encounters happened in your game? Maybe something you've done will inspire me and help me connect some dots.

2) Do you have any tips and tricks that you use to make interactions and conversations between NPCs and PCs in the village feel more lively and organic. Like, a technique I have used in the past to motivate player to have conversations in character (RP) is to have a NPC they meet ask them a question related to something the NPC already knows about them or that is about some ongoing problem the group is dealing with. And I do plan to do this with the villagers of Apple Lane to an extent, but I've never had to roleplay a village before and I'm looking for more ways to expand on the skills I already have. So any suggestions would be a great help.

• Like 1

11 hours ago, skulldixon said:

So my question here comes in two parts.

1) If you ran or played a campaign in Apple Lane, what kind of things - events - encounters happened in your game? Maybe something you've done will inspire me and help me connect some dots.

I'd really recommend you play a game of Fiasco and some Drama System. Look at some TV shows based around village life. My secret is that I use use Little House on the Prairie as my basic model but don't tell anyone...