Runequest small party

The Dave

Hey guys,

I'm new to the forums. I have been playing COC for a few years, however, I'm interested in Runequest. I have a small group of two players so   Is  it possible to play runequest with two players? thanks in advance. 

P.S thanks guys for all the advice. I really appreciate it. I think that I'm ready to jump in then. 

Edited by The Dave
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Yep, a few considerations. Combat can be lethal so tone down the violence. Avoid the murder-hobo style of play, with only two players it won't last long. Really level up the community support element. The best parts of RQ is the connection with your clan and cult so develop key NPC's a string allies (they can always then come to the rescue with Healing etc.) Keep it small, the Apple scenarios in the GM pack would make great start for a small group. Make god use of the Passions and Rune Augments

Best to pick two adventurers that belong to the region they are in, Orlanthi if playing in Sartar for example, and give them lots of relatives and enemies. 

Have fun!

• Like 2

Ooo , that is my forte... 

Yes, be sure to let those who wish to, to roll a pair of characters, and encourage those who do not to reconsider. Have them be a group/clan/family/Band of Brothers/married couple etc... to have a good reason to have each others back (a very good thing in a small party).

Feel free to let them have those little (emphasis on little) extras that players always ask for—that GMs are reluctanct to give. Consider one big item. Have them travel with NPCs they trust. Familiars or Bound spirits, or... might well help. Feel free to drop an enemy or two (literally or just their stats). As this will take a bit of time to get used to until you get the formulae right for your table do not fear Handwavium (fudge it). 

Numbers are very telling in RQ so take a good look at that herd of trollkin. Should it be cut in half or replaced by one or two Trolls?