Jump to content

Out now: The Red Book of Magic, the ultimate guide to magic in RuneQuest


Recommended Posts

15 hours ago, Russ Massey said:

Really? Does anywhen think that this change actually makes the game more fun to play or fixes something that was causing rules problems. Just another pointless rule that most groups will completely ignore.

 

9 hours ago, soltakss said:

It follows the normal "fumbles are meant to be bad" rule.

Would I use it in a game? Probably only when casting spells on someone else and, even then, only when it's funny.

 

8 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

I agree, I think I'd say the RP are spent on a fumble but not permanently.

Hmmm good point. Losing them permanently seems harsh. Just spending them with no effect is punishment enough.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Out now - The Red Book of Magic! Dive into the ultimate guide to magic for RuneQuest!   Purchase the gorgeously-illustrated 128 page PDF now, get the full price of the PDF off the prin

For no good reason, here's a complete list of all the spells with their runes cross referenced and counted. You want to know how many spells can be cast with Darkness? I got you covered. (it's the big

You may be missing my point. 1) A while ago, one-use spells were described in the Core book. It raised many questions. 2) Afterwards, clarifications were attempted here and compiled on the W

Posted Images

12 hours ago, DreadDomain said:
21 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

I agree, I think I'd say the RP are spent on a fumble but not permanently.

Hmmm good point. Losing them permanently seems harsh. Just spending them with no effect is punishment enough.

I always find it funny when games designers are asked for explicit clarification on exactly how the rules for something should work, because the current rules are unclear, then when they clarify it people say they won't follow their clarifications.

Of course, I am in a different boat, as I just use the rules as guidelines, using what I like and changing what I don't like.

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, soltakss said:

I always find it funny when games designers are asked for explicit clarification on exactly how the rules for something should work, because the current rules are unclear, then when they clarify it people say they won't follow their clarifications.

Of course, I am in a different boat, as I just use the rules as guidelines, using what I like and changing what I don't like.

No clarification was needed. On the core book on page 314 it tells you how to cast a rune magic. It tells you there is a bonus for making a critical roll  and it tells you that for a fumble the spell does not take effect and the rune points are lost. Changing this to a permanent loss is not a clarification - it is a change to the original rules.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Russ Massey said:

Changing this to a permanent loss is not a clarification - it is a change to the original rules.

That’s just clarifying what already happens with one-use spells (at least by the RBM clarification) Looks to me that It’s just following the One-Use ruling, that all spent rune points are lost permanently.

I guess (no book to hand at the moment) that standard rune magic just looses the rune point on a fumble, but is recoverable at a worship ceremony? 

Edited by Paid a bod yn dwp
Link to post
Share on other sites

Main book, page 314

5 hours ago, Paid a bod yn dwp said:

That’s just clarifying what already happens with one-use spells (at least by the RBM clarification) Looks to me that It’s just following the One-Use ruling, that all spent rune points are lost permanently.

I guess (no book to hand at the moment) that standard rune magic just looses the rune point on a fumble, but is recoverable at a worship ceremony? 

Given that page 314 states for a non-fumble failure (hmm, no way to insert a quote block?)

"""
If the casting success roll is greater than the adventurer’s relevant Rune affinity, the spell is not cast, and there is no Rune point loss. If the adventurer is boosting the spell with additional magic points, they lose 1 magic point (no matter how many are being spent). On a fumble, the spell fails and the adventurer loses the Rune points intended for the spell.
"""

"""
Once spent, Rune points must be replenished before they can be used again.
"""

It would seem rather punitive to have a permanent loss on a fumble when plain failure essentially has no effect at all. Permanent loss might make sense if a failure resulted in the (recoverable) loss of the RPs -- as if the spell had succeeded -- but with no spell effect taking place.

Including the success categories, I see four levels of cost here:

  • Critical Success: spell succeeds, NO RP COST (spell is free)
  • Normal Success: spell succeeds, at REGULAR RP COST (recoverable via worship)
  • Normal Failure: spell does not go off, NO RP COST (absolutely nothing happens)
  • Fumble: spell does not go off, at REGULAR RP COST (ie; recoverable via worship)

In contrast to the second quote above, the RBoM, page 9, on one-use spells explicitly states

"""
The Rune points used to cast spells designated as ‘one-use’ in the Rune spell or cult descriptions cannot be replenished.
"""

The four levels of cost for one-use spells (still page 9) come out to be

  • Critical Success: spell succeeds, NO RP COST (spell is free)
  • Normal Success: spell succeeds, at PERMANENT RP COST (not recoverable)
  • Normal Failure: spell does not go off, NO RP COST (absolutely nothing happens)
  • Fumble: spell does not go off, at PERMANENT RP COST (not recoverable)

Note the symmetry between one-use and reusable spells: 0 RP, x RP, 0 RP, x RP. The difference is that one-use spells have permanent RP loss while reusable spells have recoverable RP loss.

 

  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

Given that page 314 states for a non-fumble failure (hmm, no way to insert a quote block?)

 

Do you mean like this

Quote

All you need is love, love is all you really need.

The Beatles

To do that simply type or paste an item you will be placing in a “quote block” and choose this icon from above..

image.png.28f9cdbf9513fe550dace95deb1f1e9f.png

.or did I miss your point? If so, sorry.

Edited by Bill the barbarian
Link to post
Share on other sites
47 minutes ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

In contrast to the second quote above, the RBoM, page 9, on one-use spells explicitly states

"""
The Rune points used to cast spells designated as ‘one-use’ in the Rune spell or cult descriptions cannot be replenished.
"""

I don't get what that is supposed to be a contrast to.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

Including the success categories, I see four levels of cost here:

  • Critical Success: spell succeeds, NO RP COST (spell is free)
  • Normal Success: spell succeeds, at REGULAR RP COST (recoverable via worship)
  • Normal Failure: spell does not go off, NO RP COST (absolutely nothing happens)
  • Fumble: spell does not go off, at REGULAR RP COST (ie; recoverable via worship)

[snip] One-Use spell

1 hour ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

The four levels of cost for one-use spells (still page 9) come out to be

  • Critical Success: spell succeeds, NO RP COST (spell is free)
  • Normal Success: spell succeeds, at PERMANENT RP COST (not recoverable)
  • Normal Failure: spell does not go off, NO RP COST (absolutely nothing happens)
  • Fumble: spell does not go off, at PERMANENT RP COST (not recoverable)

Note the symmetry between one-use and reusable spells: 0 RP, x RP, 0 RP, x RP. The difference is that one-use spells have permanent RP loss while reusable spells have recoverable RP loss.

 

I add not seen it that way. For one use spells the jump of consequence between failure (nothing) and fumble (permanent loss of RP) looks harsh but when you put it that way... I like the symmetry. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

Main book, page 314

Given that page 314 states for a non-fumble failure (hmm, no way to insert a quote block?)

"""
If the casting success roll is greater than the adventurer’s relevant Rune affinity, the spell is not cast, and there is no Rune point loss. If the adventurer is boosting the spell with additional magic points, they lose 1 magic point (no matter how many are being spent). On a fumble, the spell fails and the adventurer loses the Rune points intended for the spell.
"""

"""
Once spent, Rune points must be replenished before they can be used again.
"""

It would seem rather punitive to have a permanent loss on a fumble when plain failure essentially has no effect at all. Permanent loss might make sense if a failure resulted in the (recoverable) loss of the RPs -- as if the spell had succeeded -- but with no spell effect taking place.

Including the success categories, I see four levels of cost here:

  • Critical Success: spell succeeds, NO RP COST (spell is free)
  • Normal Success: spell succeeds, at REGULAR RP COST (recoverable via worship)
  • Normal Failure: spell does not go off, NO RP COST (absolutely nothing happens)
  • Fumble: spell does not go off, at REGULAR RP COST (ie; recoverable via worship)

In contrast to the second quote above, the RBoM, page 9, on one-use spells explicitly states

"""
The Rune points used to cast spells designated as ‘one-use’ in the Rune spell or cult descriptions cannot be replenished.
"""

The four levels of cost for one-use spells (still page 9) come out to be

  • Critical Success: spell succeeds, NO RP COST (spell is free)
  • Normal Success: spell succeeds, at PERMANENT RP COST (not recoverable)
  • Normal Failure: spell does not go off, NO RP COST (absolutely nothing happens)
  • Fumble: spell does not go off, at PERMANENT RP COST (not recoverable)

Note the symmetry between one-use and reusable spells: 0 RP, x RP, 0 RP, x RP. The difference is that one-use spells have permanent RP loss while reusable spells have recoverable RP loss.

 

Yes agree. That’s the point I was making. The rules aren’t unduly punishing One-use spells on a fumble, It’s just that the defining aspect of one-use spell is that the rune points are spent permanently when casting, and by extension fumbling.

Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Bill the barbarian said:

Do you mean like this

The Beatles

To do that simply type or paste an item you will be placing in a “quote block” and choose this icon from above..

image.png.28f9cdbf9513fe550dace95deb1f1e9f.png

.or did I miss your point? If so, sorry.

I don't HAVE that icon, nor strike through, font and size options... (and I seem to be getting duplicate images)

image.png.add4a4982e81ecdb564b5aee3a8c2d73.png

image.png

Edited by Baron Wulfraed
Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

I don't HAVE that icon, nor strike through, font and size options... (and I seem to be getting duplicate images)

image.png.add4a4982e81ecdb564b5aee3a8c2d73.png

 

Hmmm... The site seems to be very picky about browser...

  • Internet Explorer won't even show me a log-in option.
  • Firefox (84.0.2) (my preferred browser) is not showing half the editing icons. (And that was even before restarting it so the latest update got applied; along with rebooting the computer)
  • M$ Edge, OTOH, allowed for log-in, and is showing the full editing toolbar.

Interestingly "Firefox ESR" (78.6.1esr) running under Debian Buster in a VirtualBox environment DOES show me the full editing toolbar.

"The Fountain Pen Network" is a site also using "Invision Community" and it shows a two line editing toolbar in Firefox.

image.png.e7640a4da0cdbce774e00b7909cb63e1.png

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

Hmmm... The site seems to be very picky about browser...

On my browsers it is a question of window width whether I get the mobile device view or the wide browser view.. (Mozilla, Chrome)

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

Firefox (84.0.2) (my preferred browser) is not showing half the editing icons.

You should take this troubleshooting into another forum (Alastor's Skull Inn is good for this kind of meta stuff), but I'm using Firefox and have no problem. Maybe resize the window wider?

Edited by lordabdul
Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

I don't get what that is supposed to be a contrast to.

8 hours ago, Baron Wulfraed said:

The primary book comment about for reusable spells, that RPs "must be replenished".

Still not getting it. Specifically, what is the contradiction?

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, lordabdul said:

You should take this troubleshooting into another forum (Alastor's Skull Inn is good for this kind of meta stuff), but I'm using Firefox and have no problem. Maybe resize the window wider?

Last comment -- it seems to be the presence of that sidebar killing me. Forums without it have edit windows wide enough for full edit bar. (I really don't like running with near maximized application windows, and had to drag the browser almost an inch wider to get the full bar here -- I don't "live" in the browser, I have email and usenet clients open at the same time).

Link to post
Share on other sites

Question! I have a Yelornan with Shooting Star. When it says in the Red Book that "armor
protects against this damage but magical resistance does not apply," does that only mean that it ignores Countermagic, or does it also means it ignores magical resistance such as the Protection spell?

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/17/2021 at 6:44 PM, Rodney Dangerduck said:

And, as a follow-up.  You cast Shooting Star and carefully place that arrow into a specially marked quiver.  Tomorrow is your holy day.  What happens?

For the record, this was answered in another thread.  The intent is that the arrow should be used immediately.  So the arrow in the specially marked quiver is just a normal arrow.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • MOB unfeatured, unpinned and featured this topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...