Jump to content

Is there a top limit for spirit magic spells?


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

We do know the base price per point for the variable spells.  The main question is whether the pricing is multiplicative or cumulative.  RBoM adds two points beyond what is noted in RQG.  From p.

I generally build my spirits as having at least about 3 points of POW per point of their highest-costing spirit magic spell. (Or, in other words, I don't usually give them higher point spells than the

Yeah I told them that it's not the right way to do it and they'd have to make amends when they got back to the temple, but I didn't give them a hard time in the end 'cos they came back in triumph.

Using Call on Stars from the Red Book of Magic you can get spirit magic quite a bit stronger than that.  The spell's write-up mentions spending 4RP to get Bladesharp 8.

For conventional spirit magic, it seems like the only hard limit is how much CHA you have to store spells with.

Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, dumuzid said:

Using Call on Stars from the Red Book of Magic you can get spirit magic quite a bit stronger than that.  The spell's write-up mentions spending 4RP to get Bladesharp 8.

For conventional spirit magic, it seems like the only hard limit is how much CHA you have to store spells with.

Yeah, I've wondered about that too. Glorantha Bestiary p. 167-168 state that animal spirits have their CHA amount of spells, and that crustacean spirits have only Protection. On p. 165 on the Random Spirit table an average spirit would have 3d6 CHA. Which would mean that getting a strong Protection spell would be rather easy.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Brootse said:

I don't think that I've seen larger than six point spells in official sources. Is that the maximum spirit magic spell level?

No, that limit existed in RQ2, but has been gone since then.

1 hour ago, dumuzid said:

For conventional spirit magic, it seems like the only hard limit is how much CHA you have to store spells with.

That, and the expense to learn.  Remember that each point has a cumulative cost to learn (i.e. effort of shamans or priests to teach/obtain).  A Bladesharp 6 is: 50+100+150+200+250+300 = 1050L.  Bladesharp 7 = 1400L.  Bladesharp 8 = 1800L.  Bladesharp 9 = 2250L.  Bladesharp 10 = 2750L.  Just becomes prohibitive for most folk.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Kloster said:

In that case, the cost is whatever he asks.

The tooth of a giant, a silken thread from Cragspider, a flower from the Earth Mother picked from her Garden, and the tears of the Sun.  Piece of cake! 🙂

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
54 minutes ago, AndreJarosch said:

The spirit that teaches the spell will be more powerful depending on the points on the spell it has. 

I wouldn´t want to mess around with a Bladesharp 10 spirit... and even a shaman might get into problems. 

It was true with RQ3 (1D3 POW per spell point for Spell spirits) but with RQG, POW of spirits does not depends on the power of the spell he knows.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, jajagappa said:

The tooth of a giant, a silken thread from Cragspider, a flower from the Earth Mother picked from her Garden, and the tears of the Sun.  Piece of cake! 🙂

More difficult, but much less expensive than paying the cost of a Bladesharp 10 (2750 L if I'm not wrong). And wonderful role playing experiences.

Edited by Kloster
add calculation
  • Like 1
  • Haha 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, jajagappa said:

That, and the expense to learn.  Remember that each point has a cumulative cost to learn (i.e. effort of shamans or priests to teach/obtain).  A Bladesharp 6 is: 50+100+150+200+250+300 = 1050L.  Bladesharp 7 = 1400L.  Bladesharp 8 = 1800L.  Bladesharp 9 = 2250L.  Bladesharp 10 = 2750L.  Just becomes prohibitive for most folk.

Where is this elaborated? All i could find in the core rulebook was a chart saying 50L per point or somesuch. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, HreshtIronBorne said:

Where is this elaborated? All i could find in the core rulebook was a chart saying 50L per point or somesuch. 

1 point is 1*50=50

2 points is (1+2)*50=150 (you purchase 1 point and 2 points spells)

3 points is (1+2+3)*50=300 (you purchase 1 point, 2 points and 3 points spells)

n points is 0.5*n*(n+1)*basic cost (50 for bladesharp) because you purchase 1 point, 2 points, ..., and n points spell.

Link to post
Share on other sites

If a 

12 minutes ago, Kloster said:

1 point is 1*50=50

2 points is (1+2)*50=150 (you purchase 1 point and 2 points spells)

3 points is (1+2+3)*50=300 (you purchase 1 point, 2 points and 3 points spells)

n points is 0.5*n*(n+1)*basic cost (50 for bladesharp) because you purchase 1 point, 2 points, ..., and n points spell.

I find your way of calculateing reasonable, but it isn´t what the RAW say. 

50 L per point: 

1 point is 50. 
2 points is 100. 
3 points is 150. 
etc. 

 

Edited by AndreJarosch
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

If cult members learn their spirit magic from Priests and Runelords the maximum they can learn is what their teachers know. 
If someone learns from a Shaman, sky is the limit (you might have to pay huge amounts to the shaman to get the spell you desire from the spirit world). 

Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, Kloster said:
24 minutes ago, HreshtIronBorne said:

Where is this elaborated? All i could find in the core rulebook was a chart saying 50L per point or somesuch. 

1 point is 1*50=50

2 points is (1+2)*50=150 (you purchase 1 point and 2 points spells)

3 points is (1+2+3)*50=300 (you purchase 1 point, 2 points and 3 points spells)

n points is 0.5*n*(n+1)*basic cost (50 for bladesharp) because you purchase 1 point, 2 points, ..., and n points spell.

Are PCs obligated to learn the points of a spell in increments like that? Bladesharp 6 takes 6 weeks of doing nothing but dancing in your underpants with your priest, and ALSO costs the ransom of petty nobles?

 

Can someone walk up and just pay for a Bladsharp 6 and learn it in a week for 300L? That is definitely how I interpreted the RAW.

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, HreshtIronBorne said:

Why isn't Bladesharp 6 300 L, that's what the chart seems to indicate. 6*50 = 300?

Clarified here: 

https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com/home/catalogue/publishers/chaosium/runequest-roleplaying-in-glorantha-players-book-print/cha4028-runequest-roleplaying-in-glorantha-qa-by-chapter/cha4028-runequest-roleplaying-in-glorantha-chapter-12-spirit-magic/

Scroll down to Spirit Magic Spells Table (page 257).

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Dissolv said:

The Windsword was Bladesharp 10, was it not?  Somebody learned that somewhere. 

Yes - and it is pretty much a one-of-a-kind artifact (regardless of the great number of Balazar's axes running around in player possession, and nowadays hippogriff steeds).

Spirit magic is capped by CHA and by available MP (which is less of a problem with crystals or matrices).

In order to make an enchantment, the enchanter needs to know that spirit spell at least at the level he enchants it. Having one spell at 6 or more pretty much takes up half of your spell potential (unless you raise your POW to species max, which lets you have three spells at 7 points.

Few temples have access to spell spirits that powerful. Those which do have limited slots to use them for teaching (40 times a year). You can pay the standard fare, and wait for your inoculation, or you can over-pay and hope to get your shot earlier.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

The well of daliath link states that you HAVE to buy all the levels of spells, or is that just for the pricing? I find this incredibly confusing. Why do I have to go to a website tonfigure out rules that were literally never printed. Is there any indication in the actual rulebook that you have to pay for each level of spell separately?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...