ANy advice for writers?

Cheeslord

Hi, all.

After playing a few games of CoC, I am trying my hand at writing some adventures. I really like the way they tend to focus on interesting plots, gathering horror and atmosphere rather than game mechanics. I just wondered if there was any good advice out there as I have little experience (I did write a small adventure which I think went OK but was not very adventurous in that it stuck pretty closely to stereotypical things). Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards,

Mark.

Write what you know.
If you want to write about Carcosa, Hastur and The King in Yellow, you must seek out The Yellow Sign.

Start with the ending.
What happens if the Investigators do not foil the plot?
How do they stop the plot?
Who is the main protagonist that oppose them?
What minnions or obstacles are thrown in their path?
What allies, if any, can they bring to the work?
What clues will they need to find to put the puzzle together?
What is the investigators motive for engaging in the scenario

Asnwer those and you have a good skeleton for a scenario to work on.

• Like 3

Good storytelling is more about why than what. So for me I start with the theme. In one sentence describe what the scenario is about, this is usually what inspired me to write it in the first place. It is not what the investigators will do, rather what is the take away experience. I then brain storm a bunch of scenes then critically ask does each one advance the theme. Ask why are the investigators here. And my favourite piece of advice, kill your darlings! No matter how much you love a scene, if it doesn't advance the plot, cut it from the adventure.

And Ejlertson is spot on, do loads of research - get lost on internet rabbit holes. The real world is far weirder than you think.

Edited by Psullie
  • Like 1

Ejertson has good advice there.

A C'thulhu scenario is essentially a detective novel with a horror theme.