Succession and Young Knights

Excuse me if this is the books someplace and I missed it (I'm a Pendragon noob figuring this game out) but I am trying to understand the dynamics of succession within a vassal knight's household. An illustration to help me frame my questions:

A father is a vassal knight. His first son has turned 21 and is ready to be knighted. What happens?

Understanding that PKs (or their players) might have their own personal preferences, what is "typical" practice? I imagine a lot of different possibilities:

Does the 40-something PK retire more or less immediately and his son takes over the responsibilities of leading the household and manor and providing service to the Earl as required?

If the elder PK does not retire, does his son leave to become a bachelor knight of another Lord? Or would the son stay home with the elder PK as the heir-apparent and second-in-command? Does the son go provide service along with the elder PK when the Earl requests his knights? Or might he stay home and mind the manor as the Earl is only paying for 1 knight?

I probably haven't framed these questions very well, because I don't have a good enough handle yet on how succession works. Any help or insight appreciated.

8 hours ago, vegas said:

A father is a vassal knight. His first son has turned 21 and is ready to be knighted. What happens?