What BRP resources should I be looking for?

The context is some overthinking I am doing.

So, the magic available in the Big Gold Book doesn't have the utilitarian magic I have in mind for the setting at the other end of the link. I've ordered the magic book, which to my surprise an Amazon supplier had. I have Chaosium library, so I can also pick and choose from RQ2, Magic World, and Elf Quest (the plant and animal-shaping magic in particular). Any obvious games I should be nicking spells from.

“Enlightened Magic” by John Snead is total genius if your interested in ritual magic. On a similar note I would recommend GURPS Voodoo

Edited by rsanford
  • Like 5

Check out our homebrew rules for freeform magic in BRP ->

No reason for Ars Magica players to have all the fun!

I started Playing RQ in Korea in 1982. When I got back to the United States I got away from playing (had fun with raising kids.) Then Avalon Hill started publishing RQ, then they were acquired by Hasbro and Hasbro quit publishing the game. During those lean years of absence there were many older players like myself who still had interest but no new material so many started creating new rules, spells, etc. We communicated by email. Nothing published (As far as I know). It kept the game alive for many of us. It was called Runequest -- RuneQuest Rules.

http://mail.rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net

Quote from Website:

‘This is a mailing list for discussing the RuneQuest game system, including RuneQuest (1st edition, The Chaosium), RuneQuest (2nd edition, Chaosium), RuneQuest (3rd edition, Chaosium, Avalon Hill, Games Workshop), RuneQuest: Adventures in Glorantha (unpublished), RuneQuest (Mongoose edition), RuneQuest II (aka Mongoose II) aka Wayfayer, and RuneQuest 6 (Design Mechanism) aka Mythras, and RuneQuest Adventures in Glorantha (Chaosium).