Jump to content

Opponent doesn't react: Special effect?

Jack Tar

Recommended Posts

I'm sure this is an old questions answered many times before, but sorry I can't find it.

If a character attacks an opponent and succeeds, but the opponent makes no reaction (i.e., there is no differential roll playoff), does that mean there is no Special effect? Or does no reaction equate to an automatic fail and so there is one level of difference between the combatants so the attacker gets a Special effect?

The rules as written implies that only if a differential roll is carried out can a Special effect be awarded, but it seems odd not to allow a Special effect if the opponent is doing nothing and leaving themselves wide open. In fact that seems to be the most logical place to award a Special effect.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...