Alternate character generation methods

Chao

Hi all,

The question of how to generate stats came into my head pretty much as soon as I started playing Runequest, and pops up like a thorn every time I've gotta run someone through character creation. I prefer not to use the base "roll the required die for each of your stats" because of how little agency it gives to the player, but finding a good alternative has proven quite difficult.

Currently my approach is to roll five sets of 3D6, and choose which of STR, DEX, CON, POW, CHA those go into, then roll two sets of 6+2D6 and split those between INT and SIZ. This works okay, but it does create some weird situations when a player rolls really high on one of their 2D6 rolls, and they then have to make the decision of whether they want to be really smart or really big.

Another idea I've tried in the past is to roll a baseline 1d6 for everything other than INT and SIZ, and then roll 7 sets of 2D6 to add to that, with INT and SIZ getting their baseline of 6. This is all also only accounting for human players, I haven't even started to think about what I'd do if someone wanted to play a non human character.

If anyone has already figured all this out, and found the perfect, simple and elegant way of generating player stats, I'd love to hear about it. Simplifications of other aspects of character creation are also welcome, any tips and tricks to shorten character creation times would be greatly appreciated.

• Like 2

I get people to roll an extra die for each set of characteristics and choose which rolls to use, also I get them to roll an extra set of Characteristics, so they can discard the one they don't want.

So, for humans, RQG uses 3D6 for STR, CON, DEX, POW and CHA, and 2D6+6 for SIZ and INT. I would allow the Players to roll 6 lots of 3D6, using 4D6/Best 3, and 3 lots of 2D6+6, using 3D6+6/Best 2, and discarding what they don't want, then allocating the rolls as required.

As an example, they could roll: