DrGoth Posted March 25 Report Share Posted March 25 Was wondering how exactly binding an elemental into an item works. I've read the rules a few times but I still don't think I have it completely right. First of all you'd need to sacrifice a point of characteristic POW, as the binding enchantment rune spell is not common rune magic (per the table on p.317). You now have access to the spell. I'm assuming you'd need to be able to summon the elemental. Summon elemental doesn't appear to be covered by the comment rune spell 'Summon cult spirit' as it turns up the list of special rune magic (cf. lists of special rune magic Ernalda, p. 293, Orlanth p.301, Seven Mothers, p. 303). Per 'Binding Enchantment' (p.321 and p.249) you'd need to sacrifice 3 pts of characteristic power, as elementals have three characteristics. I'm assuming you would summon the elemental first (so making that roll), and then (assuming success) make the binding enchantment roll. Do you need to roll for Command Elemental before the binding? Or does the binding take the place of the command? When you do roll for the binding, do you have to roll POW vs POW? Or just the spell success (I assume the former, but...) . If you use Ritual Practices, can you use that for the binding? My reading of the rules says no, as the summon spell would prevent you. You could use ritual Practices for the summon, but I doubt the elemental would stick around to do that. But this seems a bit odd to me, as the summon is likely to be easy (based off a Rune that's likely to be high) whereas the binding would be much harder, if it is a POW vs POW roll. Anyway, as you can see, there are some parts of this I'm not getting, so any help appreciated. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.