Jump to content

Do you get a Heroic Effort Roll to use a Limb Reduced to Zero Hit Points?


Recommended Posts

The Damage and Hit Locations rules on pages 204-205 don't allow for a heroic effort roll (CONx1) when a limb is reduced to zero hit points but hasn't received more than double the locations hit points in damage.

However, the rules state that you would get a heroic effort roll if the limb received more than double its hit points in damage. Which is a more severe wound.

Is this an oversight?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I doubt that a heroic effort would make much sense in such a situation. A limb

reduced to zero hit points almost certainly means serious damage to bones, ten-

dons and muscles, and in this case no effort of will can cause the damaged limb

to function, only magic or Hollywood pseudo-reality could do it.

"Mind like parachute, function only when open."

(Charlie Chan)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Silent Bob -

The rules sound incorrect to me. When we played RQ back in the day it went something like this:

- Chest or Head at 0 HP to almost negative = Knocked out

- Abdomen or Leg at 0 HP to almost negative = CONx1 to walk

- Arm at 0 HP to almost negative = CONx1 to fight using it

- Chest, Head or Abdomen at negative HP = Dead

- Arm or Leg at negative HP = maimed and unusable limb

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...