Means of comparing the various d100 systems for someone new to the d100 systems?

Ram

I'm new to d100. I've spent some time looking at Openquest this month. I'm having trouble figuring out which game I should focus on as a beginner. At first, I thought maybe it was just my confusion, but I was inspired to post this after some responses to another of my posts and then seeing the conversation in this thread.

So, what is your best advice for someone new? What are the big differences between the various games?

Thanks,

Ram

As I see it, there are no really big differences, which makes it a matter of

taste and personal preferences concerning the details which of the systems

one likes best - while they are different, I do not see that any of them are

"better". So my best (and unfortunately not very helpful) advice would be to

take a look at all of them in order to find the one you like most.

"Mind like parachute, function only when open."

(Charlie Chan)

The good news is that many of these BRP variations are free and available for download from this very site. You can get the Mongoose RuneQuest (1) SRD, GORE, BRP Quick-Start Edition, and the Renaissance SRD either in the download section or from discussion thread links. Variations among them include things like whether they use a total Hits pool or break it up by body part, whether they use Strike Ranks during combat, whether they use EDU and SAN.

I'm new to d100. I've spent some time looking at Openquest this month. I'm having trouble figuring out which game I should focus on as a beginner.

So, what is your best advice for someone new? What are the big differences between the various games?

The first question I would ask is: What genre of game are you looking to run ? Fantasy, ScFi, Modern, multiple genres ?

I use  fantasygrounds.com

I'm not sure how familar you are with the system, so I apologise if I'm going to be talking about things you already may know,