Help - d100/Legend/BRP/RQ Confusion

mithrandir138

Sorry, in advance, about posting a general question about d100/RQ-like games in the RQ thread, but, I didn't see a general forum for this type of question. I picked this one because RQ is apparently the daddy of the fantasy d100's.

Ok, I am a total newbie when it comes to this line of games (RQ, MRQII, Legend, OpenQuest, etc.). (With the exception of a little knowledge of the Call of Cthulhu mechanics) I am looking for a fantasy system where I can possibly build my own world and have a rules system with a relatively flat learning curve but a sense of realism. I want the "on ramp" to the system to be pretty easy to deal with because the circles I run in are more accustomed to OSR/D&D-like systems, and I don't want to scare people off.

If a comparison of these games is on a FAQ somewhere, please point me in the right direction. I really have no idea what the right system would be. It seems like there are a few of these fantasy-themed d100 games and I am not sure how compatible they all are (I am assuming they are pretty close) and I don't know why you would pick one over the other.

Again, I am completely new to this line of games and I have no bias in any way to any of them. I do, however, have a copy of Legend because I took advantage of $1 sale at DriveThruRPG, I have read some of it and I like it, so far. That's what brought me here, frankly -- however, it seems like it was made because Mongoose was losing the RQ license, and they wanted to still make games based on the MRQII system and keep their other MRQII products from being obsolete. I am not sure what the community adoption is like for it or what the future of the system is. It seems like people really like RQ6, but, I am not sure I want to dive into that because the Glorantha canon seems to come along with it.