Early Modern Professions

Julich1610

Let me begin by saying I really do like the way Renaissance Deluxe has created Professions to go within social classes and provide characters with many different options for role-playing.  I am not a rules lawyer, that is not the point.  Rather, I would like to elaborate on the various Professions from my historical readings for the common weal.

I will begin alphabetically with the Agitator.  Of course, the great religious controversy of the Reformation must by considered.  The Early Modern period was also rife with pamphlets that were a by-product of the printing press introduced by Gutenberg in 1450.  Protest was generally more prevalent than I think is credited and i was also inclined to think the lower classes were more or less docile subjects of the ruling elite, but in one book I am reading about urban protest in France during the 17th century "It took a variety of forms, ranging from isolated grumblings to clandestine threats, gatherings of angry citizens, harassment of targeted scapegoats, rock throwing, pillaging, seizures of public places, armed forays through the streets, expulsions of purported traitors, sometimes mutilations and murders."  Rather more intense, perhaps, than the student protests of the 60's!

So, I invite all and sundry to add their thoughts on the Professions listed in the Renaissance rule book, either from the perspective of history, actual experience role-playing the profession in a game context, perhaps by sharing non-player characters (there are many excellent in Clockwork and Chivalry, for example) one has designed, pure imagination and/or literature.

In this way, I hope we can collectively flesh out the professions that we can all make use of in a Renaissance campaign.      

• Like 2