New to MW questions

Silver7

Hello all! I am new to MW, but also in my 30yrs of gaming, I have had very little  experience with brp games in general. Reading through the rules, I assume it would be helpful to have certain amount of knowledge required from previous editions of Elric or other chaoium products.  Is there an additional rules that I should be reading, so I can understand MW better?  

Regardless, I have a few questions to understand the basics of the combat round. I am sure I will have a few more once I get pass the easy stuff.

1. Dex-ranks - I had assumed this was initiative with highest dex going first. However, I see the actions on page 62 says some actions forfeit dex ranks. So I am confused as to what happens when. Could someone provide an example for two combatants moving up to each other and attacking?

2. Actions - p62 says that participants have enough time to complete at least one action. Does this mean they can perform more than one? Is there only one attack allowed per turn? I see that I can move and attack (within restrictions and a dex rank forfeit). Can I do a disengage, move 2, engage a new target, and attacking? Some sort of action in a round economy would be helpful.

3. Drawing or picking up weapon says "his first attack or parry with the weapon comes five dex-ranks later, on the sixth elapsed. I searched the PDF for the word elapse, this is the only place that is used. Terminology from a different rule set? 

thanks,

silver

• Like 1

Hey Silver!

Welcome to basicroleplaying.org!

I guess it would be helpful to be familiar with other products, but not necessary. I would recommend Basic Roleplaying, commonly referred to as the "Big Gold Book". Not only does it include the system, but it also includes all the optional rules and subsystems related to BRP. (Including 4 or 5 different ways to handle action resolution.)