HeroQuest, keeping the dice roll suspense.

Baroque

Hi there.

I'm new to HeroQuest and like it a lot due to the narrative driven stories I enjoy running but I do have a question.

Setting proper difficulty, for things like combat encounters, using simple contests just is not clicking with me. I'm not looking to turn everything into a player murder machine, but I'd like them to feel like they did a good job on the challenge. Maybe it's the entire concept of a success being marginal. Yes you succeeded but not with any massive style. I may also be not embracing the rising and falling difficulty system as well as I should. That could be leading to the "meh" when the contest goes their way.

Does anyone have an elastic band difficulty range they use on average and if so do you have any criteria which you use to ramp the difficulty up or down?

I know a lot of this is storyteller gut but I worry players will lose an arm moving a box from one room to another, but take down the Atomic Robot Horror by flicking it on the forehead with their fingers because I'm not setting the challenge correctly.

Thanks.

• Like 2

I think a lot of people take the wrong reading on marginal victories. You say it is "not with any massive style" but I don't see that as having anything to do with it. Marginal victories are the exciting ones. Say, you are jumping over a pit. A marginal victory means you make the jump, just manage to grab the far edge, then scrabble to pull yourself up as the rim of the pit crumbles. A complete victory means that you hop over the pit effortlessly as if it was no big deal. 

Marginal victories are the exciting parts. People love seeing heroes win in the movies, but they want to see them struggle. A marginal victory in a fight means the hero got the snot pounded out him, but came out on top with a clever last minute save. A total victory in a fight is like those boring scenes in the Star Wars prequels where the Jedi wade through ineffectual combat droids.