New to RuneQuest Classic and I have questions!

AJ The Ronin

I'm new to RuneQuest Classic and I have questions and or commentary regarding the rules. 

Question 1: Page 28 says that weapons takes damage when are used to parry a successful attack. This rule applies to successfull parry only, right?  (In a failed parry the defender takes all damage)

Queation 2: If you successfully parry a successful attack done with a short stabbing or Long-hafted weapon how you calculate how much damage is transferred to the defender? (Those type of weapons do not damage other weapons)

Question 3: a critical with an impale weapon is both a critical and an impale? 

Based on my reading:

Q1 - This is my understanding, although they don't take damage on a critical. Shields also absorb damage, but they don't break - extra damage transfers to the defender.

Q2 -  I'm not sure that you can parry with a short stabbing or long-hafted weapon.

Q3 - Not every weapon can impale, but otherwise yes. You do extra damage and ignore armour. Ouch!

13 hours ago, ajtheronin said:

Question 1: Page 28 says that weapons takes damage when are used to parry a successful attack. This rule applies to successfull parry only, right?  (In a failed parry the defender takes all damage)

Yes, only successful parries, an unsuccessful parry means the parrying weapon has failed to block the attacking weapon.

We played that a critical parry absorbed all damage, but I cannot remember if this was a house rule.

Queation 2: If you successfully parry a successful attack done with a short stabbing or Long-hafted weapon how you calculate how much damage is transferred to the defender? (Those type of weapons do not damage other weapons)

Long-hafted weapons don't damage the parrying weapon.

However, we played that axes and spears would damage a Shield, as a shield is put in the way of the blade, whereas other weapons block the shaft. That is almost certainly a house rule.

Not in RQ2.