Against Runocriticism

Kim

This is a post about why I've chosen to shun Heroquest: Glorantha, and pretty much everything that's come out of official orifices and its para-valves recently.

I've been rubbing up against Glorantha for over thirty years now, though only randomly and spottily following its development, and even more erratically being a gamer. So, I'm not really for real, when I talk about it, rest assured. Though I feel inappropriately attached to the idea of the thing.

Back in the '80s, when it was either Runequest or Delenda-Est, I tried to take Glorantha seriously as an imaginary world, or as a 'subcreation' if you want to get all Tolkienian and pious about it. Back then, despite the Rune in Runequest, runes really didn't seem to matter much. In game terms, in setting terms, whatever; they were at best mysterious and I never got a sense Gloranthan people spent much time thinking about them, on average. I gathered that they were packaging chrome. And I liked Runequest and I liked what I could then understand about Glorantha, just fine.

Later, I learned more about the Godlearners, and learned a lot more Gloranthan mythology and got peeks behind the emerald curtain; and I guess I conflated the two: Godlearners are those who break the fourth wall; runes are that which the Godlearners use to make their hammers from. (Sentence-final postpositions? That is which up with I shall put your bottom!) As a nerd and fan, the Godlearners and all their investigations were really valuable, in order to get a grasp of Glorantha. As a player (including GMs), of course they should be shunned and ignored and must be treated as if they don't exist. Eugghhhh!