Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
RosenMcStern

Chapter 4: COMBAT

Recommended Posts

Basic Combat : if A declares he attacks B and B declares he defends (p. 86 "The defender must declare the Reaction before the attacker rolls."). A rolls and misses, must B roll because he declared so, or can he cancel ?

Let'S says that B rolls anyway his defense  (e.g. to try get some tactical advantage) but misses with a die roll < the attacker's. The attacker wins the opposed roll (both failures but attacker's roll > defender's) : the defender shall lose 1d6. This mean that you can decreases the defender's RP even if you missed your attack, right ?

Edited by Zit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. This is typical of Basic Combat, which is very similar to non-violent conflicts. And in generic conflicts RPs are always taken away from one side or the other. There is no "nothing happens" result.

This also means that the defender must ALWAYS roll his defense. There is no reason not to roll (whereas in Advanced Combat the defender might be willing to save Strike Ranks if he does not feel confident to succeed in the roll).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok. There may be some wording to change in the rules to make it clear. it is confusing with the sentence  "If a player rolls equal to or lower than his or her character’s final Weapon Skill, the latter has hit the intended target. Otherwise, the attack is a miss."

So : attack hits AND wins against defense roll damage die (and1d6 advantage if any) against defender.

Attacks does not hit but wins against defense : roll 1d6 RP damage against defender. This case is not explicitly explained

I would bring the paragraphs "making the attack" and "target reaction" in one single section (like "melee exchange" or whatever) and say that if a attacker wins and hits, he rolls as explained (Might an so on) but if only wins without hitting, he rolls only 1d6. Or remove the sentence"otherwise, the attack is a miss"

Edited by Zit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×