Which to get

I'm thinking about to getting a setting supplement for Classic RQ and am soliciting opinions for which of the new books to get, either Griffin Mountain or Borderlands & Beyond.  I have no experience with the system, so I'd like to get something that's player/game master newbie friendly.

Thanks for your help.

Personally I'd say GM. It's all I had as a teenager and provided years of gaming. Self contained, lots of little adventure hooks as well. You could start off as neolithic hunters, locals from one of the three citadels, Lunars trying to control a boarder town or what my players did - play orlanthi refugees from Sartar. It was easy to progress from there to Borderlands as there is a link between the two. We did GM, Borderlands, then Pavis & Big Rubble.

My players were actually on the run after an incident in a small village in Sartar. They'd been asked to guard a shop, but it mysteriously burnt down, they lost all the important magic stuff, but caught some unrelated bandits. Weirdly the bandits had none of the stolen goods on them. Rather than face the music, they ran...

-----

Search the Glorantha Resource Site: https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com. Search the Glorantha mailing list archives: https://glorantha.steff.in/digests/

Borderlands and Beyond is probably easier to run as it has a series of interconnected adventures.

Griffin Mountain is an excellent sandbox but might be a bit harder to run.

If you got Pavis & Big Rubble as well, you could do Borderlands, then do the Cradle, then go to Griffin Mountain through Gonn Orta's Pass, then return to Prax when things had quietened down a bit and finish with the Rubble Scenarios.

• Like 1

Simon Phipp - Caldmore Chameleon - Wallowing in my elitism since 1982. Many Systems, One Family. Just a fanboy. 

www.soltakss.com/index.html

Jonstown Compendium author. Find my contributions here

Thanks to all.