How do shields work?

Moes1980

Hello. I am new to RuneQuest, and I just rolled up my first character and did a practice battle with a troll-kin and an elf with a bow. The thing is, I am not sure how a shield is supposed to work. For example, it appears that I have a 25 percent chance to parry with my light mace, but with my small shield I only have a 5 percent chance to parry (I have no modifier to parry skill based on ability scores, so I only get the weapon/shield's base chance).  So the question is, why would I ever try to parry with the shield when I have a 20 percent better chance to parry with my mace? Also, does the shield's armor reduction only take effect if I successfully parry with the shield? From the rules, this seems to be the case. So, I can either parry to avoid a blow with a 25 percent chance of success or, take a 5 percent chance to add damage reduction. This seems to make shields sound like a bad idea, so I think I must be missing something here. Can anyone help me out with this? Thanks!

First, as GM I'd rule that unless you're a Shao Lin Master you'd have no chance of parrying missile fire with a mace; it's just too slow to use accurately or effectively against a missile weapon.  Also, you need to take into account that your skill with the shield will only improve if you pay (in money and time) to train it up or you actually use it in 'real' (i.e. dangerous) situations.  In that character's case, I'd first pay for training the skill to a point where I had some reasonable chance of success, say 20% or 25%.  Then I'd use it when melee comes along.