I'm wondering about the the disparition of the defense skill in RQ3 in favor of the dodge skill. What are the reasons of that ? The defense skill seems to me a pretty simple skill to use ( a simple substraction ), and he can be use in addition to parrying.

The dodge seems to be an "active" version of the defense skill. Consequences : you can't dodging and parrying at the same time, you have to choose between them, and you can miss a dodge.

Is the defense skill to powerful ?

I have never played RQ3, and I'm a beginner D.M. with RQ2. To a beginner point of view, defense seem cool and simple, but what's the opinion of yours, the "veterans" ? ;)

Good question 

I haven't played a game for a long time, so can't speak from recent play testing. The only negative that springs to mind, is that it requires an extra calculation in all attacks, where as with dodge it only involves a roll (not a calculation) when the dodge action is taken. So perhaps defence slows down combat a little for those not used to subtracting numbers from each roll? I suppose Defence is in the same mould as the RQ3 modifiers for unusual combat situations ( Terrain such as high ground etc) , providing a straight forward modifier to the attack roll for being a slippery fish so to speak. It makes sense, just maybe 1 more calculation then is necessary. Be interesting to hear the views of others on the forum though.  

I'm sure this is one thing that has been considered by the designers of the new RQG. It will be very interesting to see what way they have gone with the new ruling? Defence, dodge, or something new? 

Edit: Though as mentioned defence does presume that you are trying to dodge/manoeuvre from "every" attack, where as with RQ3 you have to make a decision on whether to dodge or parry. So there is also a conceptual reason in the design of both. Conceptually RQ2 defence makes sense to me, but practically it may slow the game down a little. 

Edited by Paid a bod yn dwp