Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
flynnkd

Special & Critical Damage

Recommended Posts

Just for opinions sake: does roll weapon damage twice for a special success include your damage bonus twice or not. And does it include any +1 (Broadsword) doubled or not?

And, an Attacking weapon cannot take damage from a Parry anymore (for now anyway with the QS rules).

Edited by flynnkd
add

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Our HR (which *IS* a HR, and so may not address your Q) is that you get a "regular" damage-roll, exactly as normal, to which you add the sum that would be your maximum-possible damage; both include the DB (if any), rolled or fixed as may be.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Our HR is similar, I suppose.  A slash (20%) is normal damage, just rolled twice (with all bonuses and adds), and a crit (5%) is max damage + normal rolled damage (all bonuses and adds).  All considering armour (no "through armour" stuff).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, flynnkd said:

Just for opinions sake: does roll weapon damage twice for a special success include your damage bonus twice or not. And does it include any +1 (Broadsword) doubled or not?

And, an Attacking weapon cannot take damage from a Parry anymore (for now anyway with the QS rules).

First, yes: at least AFAIK doubled damage is simply rolling your full damage, twice.  Incl pluses and/or damage bonuses.

 

Re the parrying: Did they change the QS pdf text?

Last version I had before Open RPG day was "...If the attack is a failure, the parrying weapon or shield does its full damage against the attacking weapon, breaking it if damage exceeds its weapon’s current hit points..."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 14 in the Success bullet point? 

"The attack is parried, but the parrying shield or weapon loses 1 hit point. If the attack is a failure, the parrying weapon or shield does its full damage against the attacking weapon, breaking it if damage exceeds its weapon’s current hit points."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I generally have the PCs roll weapon damage twice (e.g. Broadsword for the impale becomes 2d8+2), magic augmentation or damage bonus as per a normal hit. The PCs particularly skillful thrust didn't change the magic effect, nor did the PC suddenly become twice as strong. RQ3 is lethal enough as it is.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...