Why is sea water salty while most lakes are not?

David Scott

@scott-martin asked an interesting questing during the @metcalph & @Joerg exchanges in the Pent thread about Hot Lake (page 372):

Given that elemental Water isn't salty - what is salt water in Glorantha? Why are the seas salty? Is actually any water salty other than that specifically stated? are the seas actually not salty?

The Sean Pantheon section on page 151 says:

Merman philosophers teach that the world was once a single current owing through the cosmos. For some reason the current divided into fresh and salt water, then hot and cold, and in other ways, eventually forming the present generation of sea deities in the world.

Perhaps @Jeff can help

• Like 2

-----

Search the Glorantha Resource Site: https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com. Search the Glorantha mailing list archives: https://glorantha.steff.in/digests/

So, here's my point of view. I would like to say in advance that I am a chemist whose job includes the analytical control of water. There is little about water chemistry or physical behavior in our world that you might need to explain to me.

And I want to say in advance that Gloranthan matter doesn't quite reflect terrestrial chemistry. Which is why I have an issue with this:

37 minutes ago, David Scott said:

Given that elemental Water isn't salty

I don't think that elemental water is distilled water. Distilled water is lacking a significant component of what makes the bodies of seas, oceans and even lakes. It is dead, a liquid dust, rather than vibrantly alive.