Question about quarterstaves

styopa

Depends on technique.

A quarterstaff is essentially a pole weapon without the war-head, and as such it can either thrust for longer distance or it can be swung at somewhat shorter distance.

The rules system ignores this, along with using swords to thrust or cut, feints and a whole lot of other good stuff :)

You made me curious, so over lunch I looked up some YouTube videos on Quarterstaffs vs. Swords.

It seems as if the staff is often used by holding the back quarter, keeping the reach (which allow more force to be delivered on a swing) or to thrust (to trip, to hit the head). In either case the quarter staff retains a lot of reach and can be shifted to different targets more quickly than a sword.

I'm no expert, and have no interest in defending either staff or sword in this matter... but from what I saw I can certain understand why a quarterstaff might have a quicker SR.

"But Pendragon isn’t intended to be historical, just fun.
So have fun."

-- Greg Stafford

32 minutes ago, creativehum said:

You made me curious, so over lunch I looked up some YouTube videos on Quarterstaffs vs. Swords.

It seems as if the staff is often used by holding the back quarter, keeping the reach (which allow more force to be delivered on a swing) or to thrust (to trip, to hit the head). In either case the quarter staff retains a lot of reach and can be shifted to different targets more quickly than a sword.

I'm no expert, and have no interest in defending either staff or sword in this matter... but from what I saw I can certain understand why a quarterstaff might have a quicker SR.

Note that's holding it more or less like it's a two handed sword ...

41 minutes ago, Ian_W said:

Yeah, sometimes they do that. Oh, and sometimes people wielding a two handed sword hold it like a staff. 

Chaos stalks my world, but she's a big girl and can take of herself.

1 hour ago, Ian_W said: