What's the use of a d20 in CoC (any edition)?

smiorgan

This came to mind when I read about the CoC starter box containing dice... I was thinking that the box should rather contain two sets of percentile dice than, say, a d20 or d12. But, which dice are actually used in a CoC game? And, in particular, what's the use of the d20?

Huge damage done by mythos creatures?

Huge sanity loss?

Optional RQ-like hit locations (that was the case for older editions - I have it in "Cthulhu Now")

Is there any important use of a d20 in CoC7, that I have missed? I'm not an expert of the latest edition, having just skimmed through the rulebook and never played.

In most editions of Call of Cthulhu, the purpose of the d20 die is to keep you from buying a different set of dice because you don't want an incomplete set and sometimes play other games.

Unless you are playing the D20 edition of Call of Cthulhu, jointly produced by WotC and Chaosium to demonstrate the versatility of the d20 system (and came in a beautiful hardback with great art) in which case it's VERY important.

• Like 1

19 hours ago, KeeperXav said:

Unless you are playing the D20 edition of Call of Cthulhu, jointly produced by WotC and Chaosium to demonstrate the versatility of the d20 system (and came in a beautiful hardback with great art) in which case it's VERY important.

Missed! That version came out at my nadir of RPG buying and playing ... I had no interest in D&D at the time and looked in dismay at everything becoming d20.  

On 8/25/2018 at 3:11 PM, smiorgan said:

Missed! That version came out at my nadir of RPG buying and playing ... I had no interest in D&D at the time and looked in dismay at everything becoming d20.