Jump to content
Jason Durall

RuneQuest Core Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

15 minutes ago, PhilHibbs said:

...which means that the incapacitation can be dispelled. Not what I would have expected.

Oh, hang on, the incapacitation STARTS when the spell EXPIRES! So it has already lasted 15 minutes! It doesn't really make sense that a second 15 minutes starts, extending the total effect of the Berserk to half an hour.

But that was not a question. So...

Perhaps there's some gap in the logic I'm not grasping. It seems pretty straightforward: 

The spell is cast. It last for 15 minutes. When the spell ends, the berserker is incapacitated. 

Is the question "Can I cast Dispel Magic on a character in a state of murderous, berserk fury where all but the strongest loyalties are forgotten, and the subject has the effect of Countermagic 2, before the spell ends?"

I would say "Have fun with that!"  

 

15 minutes ago, PhilHibbs said:

p244:

Does this include casting Dispel Magic at someone? In the case of the incapacitated Berserker above (if that is the answer), do they resist the Dispel? Does an unconscious, dying person resist a healing spell?

I  would say there's a difference between being incapacitated by a murderous, magically-induced adrenaline fury, and being asleep, unconscious, and/or dying.

Again, these seem like gamemaster calls versus needing to chase down every rabbit hole of situational conditions. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/11/2018 at 5:51 PM, PhilHibbs said:

Do Sorcery spells, in general, need to overcome the POW of an unwilling target, as per "Resisting Spells" on page 244? Some Sorcery spells say that they need to overcome an unwilling target's POW with the Strength of the spell. Is this instead of or as well as a POW vs POW roll?

If it says the spell uses the Strength of the spell in the resistance roll, then use that. Otherwise it's POW vs. POW where necessary. 

 

On 10/11/2018 at 5:51 PM, PhilHibbs said:

Does a shaman's fetch's POW add to theirs for the purposes of a Spell Strength vs POW roll?

Yes.

See the top of page 355: "The fetch adds its POW to the shaman's POW against any contests involving POW VS. POW struggles." 

 

On 10/11/2018 at 5:51 PM, PhilHibbs said:

Can a sorcerer cast Create Hallucination on themselves without needing to overcome their own POW with the spell's Strength?

If a character wants to allow a spell to be cast upon them, they don't need to make a resistance roll. That's already codified in the rules. Why would this situation, however improbable as it is, be any different? Has this circumstance actually come up in play, or is it likely to? 

 

On 10/11/2018 at 5:51 PM, PhilHibbs said:

Can the Spell Strength vs POW roll be augmented, and if so, can a single augment affect both POW vs POW and Spell Strength vs POW, if both are needed?

See Augments to the Resistance Table (page 146) and Increasing Chances of Success with Magic (pages 244-246).  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

1D: How long is Bob incapacitated for? This is the original question.

Bob is down until revived through a skill, magic, or a common sense ruling by the gamemaster (sleeping it off, or being awakened by a loud noise or change in circumstances, etc.). 

 

4 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

2B: Once everything is dead, Alice casts Dispel Magic or Dismiss Magic (boosted, to overcome the free Countermagic effect) on Bob to get him out of the berserker frenzy. Does he get a resistance roll?

Bob is in a supernaturally induced murder frenzy, to the point he cannot dodge or parry, and can withstand tremendous physical punishment that would normally kill him. He cannot make informed decisions about his well-being, such as whether to allow Alice to cast a spell on him for his own good. 

 

4 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

2C: If the spell is dispelled, does he still collapse into a heap, incapacitated?

No. 

 

4 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

3A: I am facing an enemy, and I suspect that she has magic cast on her - Fanaticism, Shield, Strength, whatever.
3B: I cast Dispel Magic at her, to take down some of her advantages.
3C: Does she get a resistance roll to the Dispel Magic, before it encounters her protective spells? Bear in mind that normally, resistance rolls happen AFTER a spell gets past defensive magic, not before.
3D: What if I cast Dispel Magic on her sword to remove a Fireblade or Bladesharp - do I have to overcome her MP?

Please re-read the description of Dispel Magic on page 260, and the section Dispel, Dismiss, and Neutralize Magic also on 260. 

The defensive spells are hit first, then the personal resistance roll. 

 

4 hours ago, PhilHibbs said:

I think that 3C answers my question, actually, and that the answer is "no", therefore the answer to 2B should be "no", that Dispel and Dismiss are special and do not get a resistance roll. Otherwise you get into before-or-after complications with defensive magic. Certainly this was the way we always played it in RQ3 - dispelling does not get a resistance roll.

Also, I don't think the Dispel needs to overcome the Countermagic anyway. Countermagic protects Bob, not the spells on Bob. You can target a specific spell if you can see it or otherwise know that it is present (and Berserk is pretty obviously present!) so you cast it on the spell, not the person. No Countermagic, I think. Am I wrong?

The defensive spell (in this case the Countermagic 2 aspect of Berserker) is affected first, then Bob's personal resistance roll if it gets through. So yes, you could target his spell first, then him.  

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Paid a bod yn dwp said:

Reposting because I think this one got lost in the deluge of questions.

It was not lost, and please don't re-post.

Some questions are easier and quicker to answer than others. 

3 hours ago, Paid a bod yn dwp said:

Shield Questions

  • If you make an attack with a shield, do you only loose the parry of  the shield, or do you also loose the ability to parry with a weapon held in the other hand? P219 shield attacks

You only lose your shield parry, having shifted it into an offensive position vs. a defensive one. 

3 hours ago, Paid a bod yn dwp said:
  • Can you make an attack with a shield and a weapon held in the other hand in the same round? RAW - weapon and shield use appear to be excluded from Two Weapon Use rulings p225.

If you decide to give up any parries with the shield that round, you can use it as if in two-weapon fighting. Basically your shield is now an ungainly disk-shaped club. 

 

3 hours ago, Paid a bod yn dwp said:
  • Is dodge restricted (like parry) if you make an attack with a shield? 

No. And again, only shield parrying is eliminated. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/10/2018 at 4:55 PM, creativehum said:

HOW MANY ATTACKS/SPELLS PER ROUND?

MELEE ATTACKS WITH ONE WEAPON

If an adventurer is NOT splitting an attack or fighting with two weapons, it seems as if the adventurer only gets one melee attack per round. The rules (as far as I can tell) never state this, but looking at several passages in the book (specifically the way Splitting Attacks works on p. 202, which suggests that splitting attacks is how one makes multiple attacks with a single weapon in one round) and interpolating the texts, it seems as if even if a character had the SR for several Melee attacks, he or she could not make more than one attack. (The exception to this is Duel Wielding or Split Attacks.) Is this correct?

Yes. You get only one physical melee attack per round unless splitting attacks (or dual wielding). You may cast magic and then attack, if you've got enough strike ranks.  

 

On 10/10/2018 at 4:55 PM, creativehum said:

MISSLIE WEAPON ATTACKS

As opposed to Melee Attacks, the user of a missile weapon gets to fire as many times last he weapon's Rate allows combined with any other SRs involving PC movement/actions. This seems clear, but I'm bringing it up in contrast to Melee Attacks to make sure I'm getting it right. 

Yes. Outside of the crunch of melee, you can fire quicker, every X strike ranks (X = yours + weapon's) up to the missile fire weapon's rate of fire. 

 

On 10/10/2018 at 4:55 PM, creativehum said:

SPELL ATTACKS

I believe Rune Magic always goes off on SR 0, and thus only one Rune Spell per round. Correct?

Do Spirit Spells work as Melee Attacks, with only on spell per round? Or is a character able to cast as many spells as he or she can squeeze into the round?

Rune spells are one per round, happening at SR 1.  

Spirit magic can  be cast multiple times per round. See Magical Attacks and Strike Ranks, page 194. 

Digression - This is one of the great "problems" with how people perceive strike ranks. They're in a weird place between being a determination of what happens in what order and an action point allowance. 

 

On 10/10/2018 at 4:55 PM, creativehum said:

Also, is there a difference between if one is in melee casting a spell vs. casting at range. So, if only one spell can be can when engaged, does this mean only one spell at range per round? Or are spells like some ranged weapons which allow multiple attacks per round?

Same either way. 

 

On 10/10/2018 at 4:55 PM, creativehum said:

FOLLOW UP QUESTION ABOUT SPELLS PER ROUND

Is there any distinction between the kinds of spells that impose limits per round? That is: maybe an adventurer can cast only one combat spell of some kind per round, but multiple spells per round the are not combat? And if this is the case, is there a classification system for what counts as a combat spell as opposed to a combat spell? Or is the notion of an "attack" with a spell fluid and "you know it when you see it?"

Thank you.

No codified limits, other than the above. The rule that a subsequent spell costs an additional 5 SRs limits this functionally to three spells per round being cast... the first on SR 1, the second on SR 6, and the third on SR 11. 

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Al. said:

Apologies if this has been asked and answered and I've missed it.

Question: any plans to change the calculation that Knowledge and Perception have the same Skill Category modifier?

No. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Countermagic has no effect on Detect spells. If you cast Detect Gold, you are aware of the gold armor Rurik Runespear is wearing - even if he has Shield 4 cast!

 

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/11/2018 at 6:28 AM, Queegueg said:

If a critical sword attack doing 18 damage is met by a normal parry, and the parrying weapon has 12hp, is the parrying weapon broken (as the attack & parry results chart seems to suggest), or is the parrying weapon just reduced to 10hp (as pg 200 suggests, under "parrying a critical hit").  

As per the chart, the defender's weapon takes the damage rolled and the excess goes to the defender. In this case, "twice the damage it would normally" is a clumsy way of saying it takes critical damage. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Admin Hat: Please note - this thread is specifically for asking questions, as noted by Jason at the head of the thread. Questions will be responded to by Jason (RuneQuest Line Editor), and/or Jeff if he is so inclined.

On that, there is something Jeff would like to emphasise:

On 10/17/2018 at 7:17 PM, Jeff said:

One thing I would like to emphasise - the RuneQuest game rules are not computer code. They are like laws or regulations, which often need some construction to interpret how they work together. Some people might consider that a problem, but for me it is a source of flexibility, and creative potential. YGWV, but I am not inclined to have the rules written in such a manner that they try to resolve every possibility. Use your common sense and judgement.

 

 

Edited by MOB
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry for posting again...

<Q1>Excess damage after successful parry with a shield

"A Successful Parry" on page 198:

"In most cases, a hit to a shield damages the arm wielding it."

 

An example on page 204:

"Since he parried successfully, the attack goes through to his arm, which is clad in a 6-point plate vambrace."

 

"Notes on Shield Use" on page 218:

"Any damage taken by the shield above what the shield can absorb in one blow is inflicted on the hit location originally rolled in the attack."

 

The last rule is different from the former descriptions. Which is right?

 

<Q2>Attack & Parry Result table

When there is any excess damage, there are two descriptions:

"Any excess damage goes to adjacent hit location."

"Any excess damage goes to the affected hit location."

 

Please clarify the difference between "adjacent" and "affected," if any.

Thank you again!

Edited by Ryo
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This came up elsewhere and thought I would get the answer here.  It is a question about opposed skill roles when things are over 100%.

So let's say with a ton of magic up my berserk Storm Bull Lord has a 250% attack.  The broo he is trying to kill has a dodge of 55% that he is opposing him with.  Which of the following happens:

1) I have to use all of my extra 150% on my attack to lower his dodge and we end up with a 100% attack and a 5% dodge.   Thus lowering my critical and special chances to the 5/20% levels because my attack is 100%.  The dodge would just have a 1% critical also I assume being lowered to 5%.

2) I only have to use 50% of my extra attack because that is enough to take his dodge down to 5% and end up with a 200% attack and a 5% dodge.  Thus having critical and special chances at the 10/40% levels because my attack is 200%.  Again the dodge just having a 1% critical again being lowered.

3) I don't KNOW what my opponents dodge percent is and I have to guess / pick an amount to lower my attack by?  And in doing so end up with some new attack and dodge % with appropriate criticals / specials.

4) Some other scenario I have not thought of?

This can apply to any opposed roll of course, just using combat as the example here.

And editing to say if 1 is the answer, it seems like it is penalizing the higher skill person more as they are giving up perhaps alot of critical and special success chance.

Edited by Skovari
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do projected missiles get a full, halved or no damage bonus? The section on p 213 says that thrown weapons get DB halved, which is fine, but I can't see anything explicitly saying whether projected missiles get a DB or not. The box section on p200 just says an attack gets weapon damage + DB. None of the example PCs have a DB listed for their missile weapons. Firearrow, however says "damage bonus still applies, halved for missile weapons as normal" but it could just be referring to thrown weapons (it should probably distinguish between thrown and projected weapons if so). Hendroste the Horsemaster has a DB listed for his bow, but the other PCs in Apple Lane don't. A quick look through the Bestiary didn't come up with any DBs for projected weapons.

So on balance there are lots of examples which seem to indicate that they probably don't, but enough counterexamples to make me slightly unsure. Presumably you could pay more for a special bow that does give you your DB (or half DB).

RQ2 doesn't seem to say explicitly either, but it does have the half-DB rule for thrown weapons. I guess it makes sense if you are buying an off-the-shelf bow that as it's doing the projecting it doesn't give a DB.

Edited by d(sqrt(-1))
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, Jason: let's say I successfully Befuddle a creature with zero INT. Can it attempt to shake off the Befuddlement? Per the rules on RQG p.257, it appears not (unless the creature knows how to Meditate, which seems frankly unlikely). Defeating a Befuddle spell is usually easier for low-INT victims, but it seems to be impossible for a zero-INT victim. Was this intended?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BEFUDDLE (p 256-257): "[...] A victim of Befuddle may not attack, cast an offensive spell, sound the alarm, and so on. However, if attacked, they may parry and defend at full value.. [...] Thus, with deceit or clever misdirection, a Befuddled opponent might end up attacking their own party for as long as the spell is in effect." 

Can one attack while under the effects of Befuddle? Fist entry indicates that no, it's not possible. Second entry indicates that it is.

Thanks!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Two questions on spirit combat:

1. In the “Resolving spirit combat” section it states “Tie: A tie (where both participants succeed but achieve the same quality of result) means the situation is temporarily unresolved. If both participants rolled a critical success, the result is a tie. Both parties do spirit combat damage to the other.”

Does this mean in a case of a tie (same quality of result) both parties do spirit combat damage to one another only on a critical, or in all cases of a tie?

2. In the “Attacking with weapons and spells” section an attack is resolved normally but opposed by a the spirit’s spirit combat skill.

Does this mean an attacker rolls for the quality of the result based on their normal attack chance (i.e. they will get a crit, special, normal, fail, fumble) opposed by the spirit rolling for their quality of success based on their spirit combat skill? That is how I interpreted it, but if so on a tie does the spirit and/or corporeal entity take damage.? The example in the section shows a magic point reduction but not the opposed roll.

Thanks Jason

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A question about the minimum STR and DEX needed to use a weapon.

The rule on p 207 says: 

". . STR/DEX: The minimum necessary STR and
DEX required to handle the weapon. An excess
of STR makes up for a lack of DEX, on a 2 for 1
basis. Thus, an adventurer with a 10 STR and a
12 DEX can use a rapier (which requires a 7 STR
and a 13 DEX). If both STR and DEX are below
the requirements, all attacks and parries with the
weapon are performed at half skill."

Which is fine and dandy but what happens when a character has perfectly adequate DEX but not enough STR? Both being lacking halves the skill so it would be illogical for only one being lacking to make it entirely impossible to use the weapon. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What are the rules for MOV speed when running?  As I recall, in previous editions, bipedal  runners moved MOVx2, quadrupeds moved MOVx4 and flyers could move as fast as their fly MOVx5.  Are there running rules in RQG?  I only found rules for chases, which doesn’t address the actual amount someone moves during a round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Jason! It's nice to have a place to get things clarified.

  • Do the extra MPs added to Heal Wound count towards boosting the spell? Eg, if I cast heal wound and spent 5mp on it , would it count as a 2 point spell or a 7 point spell for the purposes of countermagic?
  • Is the countermagic/protection provided by Shield incompatible with Shimmer and Spirit Screen like the spirit magic equivalents are?
  • How do you calculate the intensity of a Socery spell for the purposes of countermagic/dispel? As far as I can figure, the total intensity is 1 + the levels of intensity purchased, is that right?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are encumbrance rules, and ENC values for armor and weapons, but no ENC values for equipment. Will these be found in the GM's book or another supplement?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules on page 8 states the cycle of elemental runes as this

Quote

Fire/Sky is overcome by Water, Water by Air, Air by Earth, Earth by Darkness, and Darkness by Fire/Sky before the wheel cycles again

But the character sheet show a different relationship: Darkness, Water, Earth, Air, Fire/Sky.

It does not correspond to the pentagram relation: darkness then water, then earth, then fire, then air.

The only link I can make with the order on the character sheet is the first five days of the week. Is that the intent?

Edited by drablak
Added pentagram relationship mismatch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

p.210 under the Dagger heading: "If thrown, use the Throwing Dagger skill"

This is clear and indicates that throwing a dagger is a different skill than using a dagger in melee. I'm a bit confused about some other cases. My first impression was that each line in the list of weapons on pages 208, 209, and 212 were individual skills. Looking into this further, though, I wonder.

  • Is the Dagger, Parrying, a different skill than the dagger (melee)?
  • There is no mention, in the Javelin description on p.211, of the Throwing Javelin skill, I would have expected the same comment as the above quote in that context. Does someone with a javelin use the same skill for both melee and throwing then?
  • Axe, small: same comment. It refers to its use in both melee and as a hurled weapon, no mention of a separate skill. Axe, Throwing even refers back to Axe, Small.
  • Spear, Long or Short: same thing.

So, in general, are there separate skills for throwing and for melee with the same weapon? If it is the case, do you get half-skill with the other method (say if you have 80% with the melee skill, do you get 40% with the throwing skill)?

 

Edited by drablak
a typo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does a character that has taken more than three times the damage than the locations hit points, still cast spells?

On the rulebook it says on p 148: "Damage Equals or Exceeds Double the Location’s Hit Points
Limb: [...] However, an adventurer so damaged from a single blow is functionally incapacitated: they can no longer fight until healed and are in shock. They may try to heal themselves."

"Damage Equals or Exceeds Triple the Location’s Hit Points

A limb hit for three times more points than it can take in
a single blow is severed or irrevocably maimed. [...] However,
the arm is maimed. In these cases, the adventurer is also
functionally incapacitated
."

In my opinion a character should be able to cast spells when functionally incapacitated even with damage triple or more locations hit points, because it is stated with double or more damage that healing can be attempted. However, a person from our group argues that since it is not specifically stated with triple or more damage that healing can be attempted, the character can do nothing.

Which way it is?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/18/2018 at 10:39 PM, Jonas said:

In the example on page 230, right column, the Pendragon rule of "high roll wins a tie of opposed rolls" seems to be used.

But that isn't right, is it? Considering that the updated pdf has changed the ambiguous wording on page 144.

Good catch! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×