Jump to content
Jason Durall

RuneQuest Core Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

On 10/11/2018 at 8:53 AM, Jason Durall said:

At -5 to -9 my arm is broken, seriously chopped up, etc. My total hit points are reduced by 10+ now (5 initial + 5-9 more). Any further hits to this arm

@Jason Durall it’s seems this part of your example is misleading. It suggests a 5pt arm can go down to -9 hit points. The book is quite clear  that the x2 damage limit per hit location should cap this to a maximum of -5 in the arm?

Looks like it’s got confused with subsequent hits to the arm which could take up to another x2 damage max to total hit points? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Based on these rules:

p. 197 - "An adventurer may attack and parry with the same weapon in the same melee round."
              "Using a prepared weapon or shield, an adventurer can attempt to parry an attack on any strike rank of the melee round during which the parrying weapon is prepared (in hand and ready for use)."

p. 217 - "A shield may not be ready for use when the adventurer is using a two-handed weapon. Two-handed weapons include all bows and crossbows."

p. 219 - "It is possible to attack with a shield, giving up the chance of parrying that round."

p. 224 - "The following conditions apply when an adventurer wishes to wield a separate weapon in each hand, other than a weapon and shield (...) Any adventurer using a weapon in each hand may use them for two attacks or attacking with one and parrying with the other, as desired."

I read this way:

1. As a general rule, ad adventurer actually can attack AND parry with the same weapon in the same melee round.
2. In order to parry with a shield, it must be prepared. This means a) not be using simultaneously 2H weapons and b) not declare an attack with the shield.
3. When bearing two weapons different from weapon & shield, an adventurer can attack with both of them OR attack with one of them and parry with the other.

Is this interpretation right? And another question:

Q1. Can you bear a shield with, let's say, a Great Axe or a Bow, although you can not parry, in order to get some kind of "passive defense" against missiles, or, otherwise,  what is the meaning of the expression "A shield may not be ready for use when the adventurer is using a two-handed weapon" in p. 219

Thank you.

Edited by kiryamo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, kiryamo said:

...

1. As a general rule, ad adventurer actually can attack AND parry with the same weapon in the same melee round.
2. In order to parry with a shield, it must be prepared. This means a) not be using simultaneously 2H weapons and b) not declare an attack with the shield.
3. When bearing two weapons different from weapon & shield, an adventurer can attack with both of them OR attack with one of them and parry with the other.

Is this interpretation right? And another question:

For me, yes.

1 hour ago, kiryamo said:

Q1. Can you bear a shield with, let's say, a Great Axe or a Bow, although you can not parry, in order to get some kind of "passive defense" against missiles, or, otherwise,  what is the meaning of the expression "A shield may not be ready for use when the adventurer is using a two-handed weapon" in p. 219

For me, that means you can't use the shield actively (nor the 2 handed weapon). In RQIII, there was a rule concerning a strapped shield protecting a number of locations. IIRC, it was in the description of the pike-and-shield skill. I can not check now if a similar rule is in RQG, but if it is not, you could tell that 1, 2 or 3 (depending on shield size) contiguous locations are protected if an attack comes toward the character. In most cases, it would concern ranged attacks.

Kloster

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing, not related to Shamans this time:

Experience Between Adventures, page 416

At the end of each season, an adventurer can select up to four occupational skills and cult skills to get an experience check. These experience checks are resolved at the same time as regular experience checks—if a skill had already had an experience check that season, it cannot receive an additional check through this method.
...
Example: Harmast is ready to improve more than the skills he’s used successfully while adventuring. At the end of the season, the gamemaster tells the players that they can pick four skills for experience checks.

Harmast’s player looks at his occupational and cult skills and picks the following: Bargain, Cult Lore (Issaries), Manage Household, and Orate. He can make experience rolls for each of these as if he had used the skills successfully during an adventure.
 
Now, Lore skills are not tickable, that is to say not increasable by experience. 
 
So is this an error in the example or is it intended to say that non-tickable skills get training or what? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 hours ago, Brootse said:

If you blast 8 Lunars with a 10p Thunderbolt how much Countermagic do they need against it? Is each Lunar hit by a 3p runespell or a 10p?

As each Lunar is being hit by a different thunderbolt (even if they are originated by the same runespell), I'd rule that each of them is hit by a 3 pt. runespell, so a Countermagic 6 or higher is what they need. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/16/2019 at 11:32 AM, kiryamo said:

Based on these rules:

p. 197 - "An adventurer may attack and parry with the same weapon in the same melee round."
              "Using a prepared weapon or shield, an adventurer can attempt to parry an attack on any strike rank of the melee round during which the parrying weapon is prepared (in hand and ready for use)."

p. 217 - "A shield may not be ready for use when the adventurer is using a two-handed weapon. Two-handed weapons include all bows and crossbows."

p. 219 - "It is possible to attack with a shield, giving up the chance of parrying that round."

p. 224 - "The following conditions apply when an adventurer wishes to wield a separate weapon in each hand, other than a weapon and shield (...) Any adventurer using a weapon in each hand may use them for two attacks or attacking with one and parrying with the other, as desired."

I read this way:

1. As a general rule, ad adventurer actually can attack AND parry with the same weapon in the same melee round.
2. In order to parry with a shield, it must be prepared. This means a) not be using simultaneously 2H weapons and b) not declare an attack with the shield.
3. When bearing two weapons different from weapon & shield, an adventurer can attack with both of them OR attack with one of them and parry with the other.

Is this interpretation right? And another question:

Q1. Can you bear a shield with, let's say, a Great Axe or a Bow, although you can not parry, in order to get some kind of "passive defense" against missiles, or, otherwise,  what is the meaning of the expression "A shield may not be ready for use when the adventurer is using a two-handed weapon" in p. 219

Thank you.

The answer on how many attacks and parries one can do in one round with two weapons has been answered here:

Basically:

1) You can attack once with your main weapon, unless you split your attack skill.

2) If you have an offhand weapon, you can attack with it at SR equal to the sum of both weapons' individual SRs.

3) You can parry or dodge multiple times with any of the weapons you hold. Each subsequent attempt suffers a cumulative -20% penalty, no matter skill or weapon was used.

Rule on page 224 seems to be a holdover from RuneQuest Classic, and to be ignored.

Edited by Mugen
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×