Jump to content
Jason Durall

RuneQuest Core Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

On 11/21/2018 at 5:32 PM, Moonface said:

Why wouldn’t Extension make the Runespell more powerful?  For example, an opponent casts Charisma and Extension III, Charisma is now cast with 4 RPs, and you should need a Dismiss Magic of at least 4 pts (or 8pts Dispell Magic) to dismiss it.

You're not making the spell more effective or more powerful, you're just making it last longer. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/4/2018 at 11:38 PM, HreshtIronBorne said:

Strength
2 Points
Touch, Temporal, Passive 
This spell adds 8 points of STR to the target for the spell’s duration. This increases melee combat damage by one step on the Damage Bonus table on page 56 (e.g., from +1D4 to +1D6), increases all Agility and Manipulation skills(including weapon skills) as follows:
Strength Modifier
STR Prior 
to Spell
Agility and Manipulation 
Skills Increase
1–4 +5%
5–8 —
9–12 +5%
13+ +10%
It also enables the target to lift or carry heavier weights. Strength is incompatible with Vigor.

Damage Bonus
The modifier for damage an adventurer inflicts when physically striking or applying force is known as their 
damage bonus. This is an extra die roll, which is either added to, or subtracted from, the damage inflicted by a weapon or natural attack such as claw, bite, kick, etc. If a negative damage bonus takes a weapon’s damage to 0 or below, no damage has been inflicted. Add your adventurer’s STR and SIZ together and consult the Damage Bonus table:

Damage Bonus
STR+SIZ Damage Bonus
12 or less –1D4
13–24 —
25–32 +1D4
33–40 +1D6
41–56 +2D6
Each +16 points Additional +1D6

By the chart after 41 STR+SIZ, easily possible for a lucky starting Bison Rider, an 8 point bonus to STR does not raise an adventurer to the next damage bonus. Does the Spell just do this by default? Does it do it in addition to increasibg STR by 8? Would a Bison Rider with 21 SIZ and 20 STR be able to get to a 3d6 damage bonus or is the spell just wasted?

The spell, along with the other characteristic-boosting spells, had two frustrating limitations: 

  1. Players had to refigure the relevant skill category modifiers and/or damage bonus to figure out what effect the spell had, which slows gameplay and introduces a potential for errors in calculation.
  2. It was possible to get no appreciable bonus (or only a very minor one) when going through all that paperwork. 

To address this, we decided to make it easier and quicker to simply have the skills and damage bonus bump up by a predefined amount. 

I'm not sure that rolling two 18s for STR and SIZ (total 36), modified by homeland (+2, for 38 total), plus Elemental Rune affinities (Air and the other would have to be Darkness... a weird combo for a Bison Rider, giving +3 more for a total of 41), qualifies as "easily possible", but you might have better dice than I do. 

For someone with STR+SIZ of 42 or higher, then yes, it would bump them up one damage bonus rank (to +3D6) but would only functionally increase STR by +8 for the purpose of resistance rolls, etc. 

 

 

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have some questions regarding opposed combat rolls. My confusion stems from attack and parry using the same combat skill in RQG. The distinction doesn’t become visible mechanically  until a change is brought about by something like the cumulative parry penalty or splitting attacks rule.

1. In opposed combat rolls, where one combatant has a combat skill over 100%, is it parry% or attack% over 100 that is used to figure out any penalty?  I ask because Parry% can vary from attack%, either through splitting attacks, or through the cumaltive parry penalty rule.

2. If a highly skilled combatant (150%) spilts their attack, does parry remain unaltered initially? For example an attack of 150% is split for two attacks of 75%. Does the parry remain at 150% before any culmaltive penalty? 

Edited by Paid a bod yn dwp

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/3/2019 at 4:34 PM, High King of Balazar said:

In RQ3 there were armouring enchantments to increase armour, and strengthening enchantment to increase either location or general HP..

I can't see these in RQG ? Have they gone for gone away ? Am I not looking properly ? Are they coming back in a different supplement ?

They're discussed briefly on pages 249-250. They've been de-emphasized as they were historically woefully abused. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Countermagic spirit spell:

Quote

This defensive spell protects the target it is cast upon against any other incoming spell, including those such as Detection, Protection, and even Healing spells.

Shield rune spell:

Quote

The effects of this spell are cumulative with either Protection or Countermagic.

If cast on a target already protected by Countermagic, the Countermagic would be Dispelled before the Shield, if possible. 

Does the order of casting of Countermagic and Shield matter?

If I cast Countermagic 1 then Shield 2, does the Countermagic get taken down by the shield? If I cast Countermagic 3 then Shield 2, would the Shield 2 be blocked?

Do I need to cast them in the other order, with the Countermagic powerful enough to get past the Shield? e.g., if I cast Shield 1, do I need to cast Countermagic 4 in order to get them to stack (as a spell lower than 4 points would normally be countered by the Shield's Countermagic 2)?

Or, do Countermagic and Shield always stack regardless of the order and power of the spells?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1: Pg 167 says that mounts must be trained separately to; accept a rider, remain calm in battle, fight in battle and increase their three attack skills up to 50% below the trainer's ride skill. Training to accept a rider is stated to take a week. How long do the other types of training take? Also, does a war trained mount immediately get 50% below the trainer's skill in attacks or does that have to be trained separately (or separately for each attack)?

2: Is Martial Arts treated like a weapon for special and critical success purposes? That is, does a critical Martial Arts roll do max damage and bypass armor?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can a Trickster casting Hallucination see a door in a wall for example that nobody else can see, and walk through it? I'm hoping the answer is yes, as that sort of thing was a favorite of my old RQ2 Trickster. I called it "the roadrunner spell."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another shaman related question:

The spirit spell Control [Entity] is one that shamans will find useful. However, I need to know how specific that spell is when applied to spirits. 

I've already told my shaman player that there can't be a single Control Spirit which works on everything but I need to know how far he will have to specialise.

The description implies that there is a separate Control for Elementals. Does this also imply a separate Control Fire Elemental, Control Wind Elemental etc? 

Is a discorporate human spirit a different thing if it's living or dead? Do Wraiths need their own spell? What about nature spirits? Help!
 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How does one set up a new shrine for a Rune cult?

The book talks about this being a thing one might be asked to do by one's cult but only details of how to start a spirit shrine are given.

Help please!

Edited by Michael Cule

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello.

I have a rule question about Melee Round. The rule says "Who goes first and in what order during a melee round is determined by strike ranks". But in phase 2. "Movement of Non-Engaged Characters" in which order the move of unengaged characters and monsters is made ?

Edited by raskal

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Spirit Binding spell (pg 265) states;

Quote

Binding spirits into familiars demands the use of special cult-bred animals described in the Spirits chapter.

I couldn't find any information about 'special cult-bred animals' in the Spirits chapter. What is this meant to refer to? The 'allied spirits' gained by rune master sound similar, but those are said to be sent by the god and have different listed abilities than bound spirits. At that, the term 'familiar' appears in the text of this spell and nowhere else in the book. Is a familiar the same thing as a spirit bound animal as described on page 250, or something else?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The starting equipment for Noble characters (p.70) does not include any armour on abdomen hit location, as Bronze (Plate) Cuirass only protects chest. The same problem is with the character Harmast (p.88), whose equipment is based on this list. Notably, the Harmast's hit location table (p.89) still incorrectly states that he has 6 AP on abdomen.

I suppose the "Bronze/Plate Cuirass" on both these places should actually be Bronze Plate, Segmented (according to the table on p.215).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is the Restore Health rune spell intended to be the only way of recovering lost characteristic points? The Core rulebook doesn't seem to list any way of naturally recovering from disease and other things that cause characteristic loss.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can non-Sorcery spells be cast upon the Sorcery spell Protective Circle?

And can Boon of Kargan Tor be cast on the Protective Circle?

Edited by Brootse

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Four Phases in a Melee Round (p. 192)

 

I'm a little confused by the logic of putting the movement of non-engaged characters (phase 2) before the resolution of missile attacks and spells (phase 3).

If I'm reading this correctly, a non-engaged melee combatant can move half his/her movement, close in on a target that is armed with a missile weapon, and attack before that target gets a chance to fire. Wouldn't it make more sense to have phase 2 include both the movement of non-engaged characters AND the resolution of missiles and spells? 

Maybe abolish theses phases all together and just go with Strike Rank order?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Repost edited for clarity.

I am bit unsure how to count the missile strike ranks. If PC's DEX SR is 2, do I count it like:

2 (shoot) + 5 (loading a new missile) + 2 (shoot), which would give strike ranks 2 / 9 (third shot not allowed)

or

2 (shoot) + 5 (loading a new missile + shoot) +  5 (loading a new missile + shoot), which would give strike ranks 2 / 7 / 12

or

a a PC DEX SR  of 0 (DEX 19+), so you could potentially go on

1 (shoot) 6 (shoot) 11(shoot)  depending on how you interpret DEX SR 0.
This question and which solution is correct especially as regards SR 0 has bothered my since pre-internet BBS only days!

Cheers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In regards to Multispelling a disrupt spell. The rules as to Multispelling non-compatible spirtit spells state that ..

"The only exception to this is the Disruption spell, which can be combined with itself and resolved as one attack doing 2D3 damage to one hit location:"

all emphasis mine

1) One can infer that seeing as the spell is stackable one can take the italicized text and add a d3 per point of stacking. But is that inferance correct
 i.e. stacking twice for cost of 2 RP results in one attack doing 3d3 points of damage to one hit location at a cost of 2 MPs. 

2) Or does stacking allow one to toss another doubled disrupt per stacking at another target (another inference)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If two potential foes move into range of one another, with weapons readied, are they automatically "Engaged"?

What if neither one of them "wants" to be Engaged?

What if one or both of them are already "Engaged" with other foe(s)?

"An Elf, a Dwarf, and a Troll walk into a bar" -- are all three of them each Engaged with the other two?

 

Edited by g33k

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SR's, Engagement, Statement of Intent --

Some character, C, makes a SoI that they will move past a potential foe, F, to engage a BigBad (outside the scope of these questions).

C has a very-high DEX, acting early in the round.

F is already Engaged in an ongoing melee with another character, R (who may react to what happens below); F's SoI is attack & defend vs R.

F has a very-high SR, acting late in the round.

DirectorGM:  Action!

C moves into melee range of F, intending to move past.

Q1:  Are C&F automatically "Engaged"?

Q2:  If Q1 is "Yes" does C need to Knockback/Disengage/Flee (vs F) to continue moving past?  Is that implicit in C's SoI?

Q3:  If Q2 is "Yes" and C chooses to "Flee" does F get an unopposed attack, even though attacking C (or anyone attempting to move-by) was not part of their SoI?

Q4:  If Q3 is"Yes" -- Does F's attack on C occur on F's SR (even though C's movement "happened" on an earlier SR), or on one of the SR's-worth of Movement that C declared?

Q5:  If F attacked C on Q3/Q4, what happens to F's SoI & their SoI-declared attack on R?  Did they "use up" their action attacking C; or is that a "free" attack?

Q6:  R (whose SoI was "Murderize F without being murderized back") is feeling really left out, and wonders if he gets any chance to react to all the stuff F is doing with C, any advantage from C's distraction, multiple-Engagement, etc...  and if so, what reactions/advantages?

Edited by g33k
R

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Axe Trance & Sword Trance --

Do these have any actual "trance" features as per, e.g., Arrow Trance?

Quote

"The user enters a trance in which the only things that exist are bow and targets.  The user moves only to get a clear shot or find another target.  The user can use no other weapon and cannot parry nor use the bow as a club. Even if engaged in melee, the user will fire an arrow at their opponent.

While entranced, the user may cast only bow-related magic (Multimissile, Speedart, etc.) to the exclusion of all other magic, including healing (except that the user can heal their elf bow if it is damaged). If the battle ends before the spell expires, the user will stand at rest and wait for new targets."


Obviously, one would need to modify the exact features... e.g. Humakti will not "Heal" their iron swords, and will be free to parry!

But will the the Axe/Sword Trance'd only be aware of themselves and their foes?  Unaware e.g. of falling allies, larger strategic considerations?  If all the foes are fallen before the spell expires, do they just stand ready for more foes?

Edited by g33k

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure if this belongs here, but I always wondered why the spirit spell Parry doesn't increase the armor of the shield/weapon... I mean if Bladesharp and all the others increase damage on top of the percentage, why not Parry? Seems a bit weak in comparison. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/21/2018 at 4:32 PM, Michael Cule said:

Does the Shaman gift Possession allow covert or dominant possession. I'm assuming dominant is the default but would a shaman be able to go covert and hide within the person he attacked. Once they  came round they could perhaps ride inside to penetrate a place normally protected by magical alarms or perhaps emerge to suddenly take over the body at a strategic moment? 

I think it's pretty straightforward. Maybe future expansions to the shaman ability rules will allow for special cases like that. On the other hand, the gamemaster is well within their rights to allow it desired, such as on a critical or special success with the resistance roll. 

On 11/21/2018 at 4:32 PM, Michael Cule said:

Does the Shaman have the same limits on using the unfamiliar body as other spirits given it's normally a shape he's familiar with?

I'd say no. The Shamanic Possession (p360) works on a "per hit location chart" basis so it means they're familiar with their own rough body shape. 

On 11/21/2018 at 4:32 PM, Michael Cule said:

Do the shaman abilities taken at becoming a Shaman cost characteristic points? I'm assuming not but it isn't totally clear to me.

Yes. Every ability after the first ability costs characteristic points. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/21/2018 at 5:32 PM, Pentallion said:

Can a discorporate shaman cast demoralize on incoming hostile spirits?  Does demoralize only work on beings with INT?

Yes, if the spirit has INT. Otherwise no. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/23/2018 at 4:10 PM, Ryo said:

<Q1> Chalana Arroy's Favored Passion

  • Loyalty (temple) on page 74
  • Love (any) on page 290

Why does the detailed cult description lack the Loyalty (temple) ?

An oversight.

You can add any Passion at any time, if it makes sense, so if there's an issue like this, just automatically add it at 60% (p236-237). 

 

On 11/23/2018 at 4:10 PM, Ryo said:

<Q2> Days of Rain of Prax on page 122:

The Sacred Time is listed as 20 days on "Days of Rain" entry. It is longer than the days of the Sacred Time (14 days). Is this a typo?

Actual days of rain don;t line up perfectly with the beginning and end of Sacred Time. 

 

On 11/23/2018 at 4:10 PM, Ryo said:

<Q3> "Runes and Techniques Used "on page 391

"A sorcerer must have an affinity with the Rune or Runes used in the spell..."

Need to change "affinity" to "mastery" Right?

Yes, for clarity. 

 

On 11/23/2018 at 4:10 PM, Ryo said:

<Typo>
4the sentence of 1st paragraph, 2nd Example (Vostor Son of Pyjeem is traveling...) on page 231.

"Vostor s uncertain."     >>>    "Vostor is uncertain. "

Noted, though this is not really a place for reporting typos. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...